Official Website of the Camogie Association




Camogie Association Soaring Stars announced




Waterford and Down dominate the 2011 Camogie Soaring Stars team with eleven players receiving awards for their displays throughout the season.




Waterford, who won the All Ireland Premier Junior crown receive seven, including Captain Nicola Morrissey and midfielder Patricia Jackman. All Ireland finalists Down pick up four, with Fionnula Carr taking the centre back position. Meath (2) Westmeath (1) and Armagh (1) take the remaining spots.




The Soaring Star and Intermediate Soaring Star awards will be presented at a gala black tie event on Saturday, November 5th at Citywest, Dublin. Brian Cody, manager of All Ireland hurling champions Kilkenny will attend as this year’s special guest.




Wexford’s All Ireland winning duo Ciara O’Connor and Frances Doran plus Antrim captain Jane Adams will receive Intermediate Soaring Star awards. JJ Doyle (Wexford), Noel Finn (Galway) and Mark Cooney (Waterford) make the shortlist for manager of the year, which will be announced on the night.




Speaking about today’s announcement President Joan O’Flynn:




“”Congratulations to all of this year’s Soaring Star recipients. They have impressed throughout league and championship and are richly deserving of their awards.




The Soaring Star and Intermediate Soaring Star Awards are in their third and second year respectively providing the Association with a wonderful platform to acknowledge the tremendous skill, athleticism, talent and commitment exemplified by players in these grades.




I look forward to presenting the awards on what will be a wonderful night for Camogie on November 5th.””








o The 2011 Soaring Star Team: Aisling O’Brien (Waterford), Emma Hannon (Waterford), Jennie Simpson (Waterford), Orla Maginn (Down), -ine Keogh (Meath), Fionnuala Carr (Down), Grßinne Kenneally (Waterford), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Pamela Greville (Westmeath), Catherine McGourty (Down), Nicola Morrissey (Waterford), Jane Dolan (Meath), Collette McSorley (Armagh), Karen Kelly (Waterford), Niamh Mallon (Down).


o The 2011 Intermediate Soaring Star recipients are Ciara O’Connor (Wexford), Frances Doran (Wexford), Jane Adams (Antrim).


o The 2011 Manager of the Year nominees are JJ Doyle (Wexford), Noel Finn (Galway), Mark Cooney (Waterford).


o Tickets for the 2011 Camogie All Stars in association with O’Neills are available to purchase by logging onto


o The Soaring Star Awards are chosen from players who compete in the Premier Junior championships, Junior A and Junior B grades.


o The Intermediate Soaring Star Awards are chosen from players who play in the All Ireland Intermediate grade.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners