Official Website of the Camogie Association






Hugh Dan McLennan, Colmcille Eirinn æs Alba, presents Colette McSorley (Armagh and Ireland)  her Player of the Match Award at the Annual Camogie/Shinty Ireland v Scotland. 



Camogie-Shinty International

Ireland 2-2
Scotland 0-0
By C¾ilÝn Duffy


Ulster players were also to the fore for the camogie side as goals in either half from Cavan’s Margaret McBride and Ashling Corr of Tyrone paved the way to an eight-point win over Scotland at Bught Park, Inverness on Saturday.


In mixed weather conditions, defences stood firm in the opening half until McBride burst through for a 26th minute goal.


Scotland held the early dominance in this game but were unlucky not to find the target with a succession of early wides.


Picking from just seven clubs the Scots were at a firm disadvantage with Ireland‘s great skill and fitness coming through as the game progressed.


Managed by Cavan’s Eddie Brady, Ger Moran of Roscommon and Louth’s Mary Connors the visitors really upped the anti on the restart.


Ireland dominated possession in the second half with Player of the Match Colette McSorley of Co. Armagh and Cavan’s Lorraine Day very much to the fore.


Goalkeeper Caroline Connaughton from Roscommon received the cup after the game and was delighted to receive her first International camogie honour.


“”We expected it to be a very tough game as there were a few of our side who had played here before, but it was my first time and I am extremely proud with the team, “”she said.


“”The goals are much bigger from our point of view and I’m delighted we kept going to hold out for the win. We only met twice before the game, but we have been playing away with our counties all year so everyone was very fit and it showed out there today.””


IRELAND C Connaughton (Roscommon); N Connolly (Roscommon), S Greville (Westmeath), K Walsh (Wicklow); N Breen (Kildare), B Murray (Armagh), R O’Connell (Kildare); M McBride (Cavan), F Bigley (Tyrone); L Day (Cavan), V Crean (Carlow), AM Doran (Wicklow); C Curley (Roscommon), C McSorley (Armagh), P Greville (Westmeath). Interchange: R McKenna (Monaghan), R Crowe (Cavan), A Corr (Tyrone), M Coady (Carlow), S McQuillain (Monaghan)


SCOTLAND: E Cameron; E Wink, L McKay, H Dooley; L McCafferty, B MacDonald, K Myerscough; K Deans, K Smith, Y Connaughton; L Norman, K Munro, F Mathie; J Nicol, O Coughlin. Interchange: K Drain, S Dunstaffnage, M Holohan, J Gillanders, A Gribbon.



REFEREE: Calum Duff (Scotland)


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners