Official Website of the Camogie Association


During the past week we had the first round of the Meath Senior & Junior Camogie Championships, and with the adverse weather conditions some games were called off due to unplayable pitches.

The Senior Championship got off to a good start with an impressive win for Trim as the overturned Kilmessan. The game was very close and intense.

Trim 4-5 Kilmessan 2-8

Trim’s Dearbhla O’Carroll was on form for her side as she played an leading role throughout the game, Dearbhla opened the proceedings with a goal from play in the 2nd minute. Kilmessan took a little longer to get their first score on the board which came from Katie Ni choileann this was followed by a point from a free from Alieen Donnelly. Both sides showed some good form as they tried to gain the advantage. A deflected goal which went in off Trim’s Suzanne Hayes gave Kilmessan the upper hand.

Dearbhla O’Carroll pointed from play and Trim’s forward Linda Telford got their second goal midway through the first half. Frances Lynch playing at centre field for kilmessan got her first point from play with 5 minutes remaining before the break and Aileen Donnelly pointed from a free. Trim when in at half time with another 2 points clocked up by Edel Guy one from play and the other from a free leaving the score at half time Trim 2-4 Kilmessan 1-4.

The second half was nail biting for both sides, Kilmessan who lost their Senior Championship Crown to Blackhall Gaels last year, wanted to start their Championship on a positive note for the coming year. Frances lynch opened the scoring in the second half with a point from play, this was followed by a point by Trims Edel Guy. Aileen Donnelly Kilmessan was on hand as free taker and pointed another in the 34th minute, bringing the score line to only 2 points between the teams.

For the next ten minutes their were a few wides until Blaithnead Joyce sank Trim’s third goal. The celebrations were not long lived as Kilmessan’s Lisa Horan grabbed a crucial goal and Aileen brought things level within the last ten minutes with two more points. With the intensity growing the last five minutes could have gone either way. Trim who have been knocking on Kilmessan’s Door for the past few years got their rewards with the last score of the game and the winning goal in the 25th minute coming from Dearbhla O’Carroll.

Trim: Ann Cole, Suzanne Hayes,Emma McNally,Darina Smyth,Rachel Winters,Brid Guy,Ciara Ashe,Edel Guy 0-3,Ann Marie Fagan,Niamh Guy,Katie Hacket,Aishling Fagan,Blaithnead Joyce 1-0 ,Dearbhla O Carroll 2-2 ,Linda Dempsey 1-0

Subs: Sharon Campbell went on for Suzanne Hayes and Lynn Winters went on for Aishling Fagan.

Kilmessan : N Sheridan, E Doyle, K Ward, C O’Leary, S Ross, A Lynch, S Curtis, F Lynch (0-2), S Horan, A Donnelly (0-5), L Horan (2-0), M Horan, O Doyle, AM Martin, K Ni Choillean (0-1) Subs ME Sherdian for AM MArtin

Junior Chamiponship

Boardsmill 1-4 V Na Fianna 3-1

Na Fianna were delighted to take their first 2 points of the Junior Championship with a good win over Boardsmill. Boardsmill who would have had the upper hand over Na Fianna in the past certainly were given something to talk about as the were defeated by a goal. Deirdre Hoey,Sinead McLoughlin and Mary Durkan impressed throughout for Boardsmill and Lorriane Boggan, Michelle O’Malley & Claire Coffey helped all during the game. It was a pretty close & tough game throughout but the scores just came right for Na fianna as the went out winners.


Na Fianna: Nicola Doherty, Claire Reynolds, Lorraine Boggan, Caroline Murphy, Michelle O’Malley, Mandy dixon, Caroiline Walsh, Claire Coffey 0-1, Elizabeth Flynn,Marie Dunne, Calire Flynn, Orla Vessy, Serena Dowling 1-0, Mary Reilly 1-0, Anne Marie Holton 1-0.

Sub Shaunna Ennis for Anne Maire Holton, Louise Fagan for Serena Dowling,

Boardsmill: Linda Ryall,Karen Mccarthy,Deirdre Hoey,Colette Kelly,Nadine Cleary,Caroline Loughran 1-0,Aine Corrigan,Michelle Dixon 0-1,Sinead McLoughlin,Suzann Keogh, Mary Durkan ,Enda Kennedy 0-1,Avril Stellini,Karla O’Brien,Deirdre Gibbons

Subs : Anne Marie McLoughlin for Aine Corrigan, Sandra Dixon for Deirdre Gibbons 0-1.




Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners