Official Website of the Camogie Association

The AIB All-Ireland Senior Club Championship Final will be a repeat of the 2013 decider, when Milford annexed their first championship at the expense of 2011 victors Killimor.
Milford dashed Oulart-The Ballagh’s dreams of a unique club double at Carriganore in Waterford, with a 1-9 to 1-8 win. The 2013-2014 champions were pushed all the way by the titleholders, whose hurlers also won the Leinster championship at the end of last year.
Killimor got off to a good start and that platform was sufficient to see off Loughgiel Shamrocks at St Tiernach’s Park in Clones by 2-7 to 1-5.
The intermediate final will be contested by Cahir and Eyrecourt, after the Tipperary girls beat Tullaroan, 1-8 to 1-5 and Eyrecourt’s goal power accounted for Eglish, 3-6 to 0-5.
Milford always held the upper hand in their heavyweight match-up involving the winners of the last four AIB All-Ireland senior camogie finals.
Emer Watson slotted to placed balls for the Cork unit and though Ursula Jacob responded in kind, a Laura Stack goal, followed by another couple of points put the winners in s a strong position. Jacob kept her side in touch though and they trailed by just 1-4 to 0-6 at the break.
Watson and Deirdre Reilly helped open up a four-point gap as the second half progressed and that was to prove significant, as it rendered the late goal from Úna Leacy – playing her first game since having a cruciate knee ligament injury operated on last July – of consolation value only.
Brenda Hanney rolled back the years with a superlative display to help Killimor keep Loughgiel Shamrocks at bay. The former Galway star scored 1-3 in a player-of-the-match performance and with Susan Keane adding 1-2, the westerners were able to maintain control.
As expected, Racquel McCarry provided the main threat for Shamrocks, providing 1-2 of their tally, and the Antrim contingent rallied well but could not reel in their gritty opponents.
Dual star Róisín Howard slotted six points as a young Cahir unit booked their place in the intermediate decider. Laura Fitzpatrick’s goal was a key score for the Tipperary gang, who have experienced a meteoric rise, having been playing junior B camogie in 2012.
They are certain to face a stern examination from Eyrecourt in the final. The Galway team have earned a reputation for heavy goalscoring and showed that it was well earned against Tyrone contenders, Eglish.
Ironically, the country’s best known raiser of green flags, All Star Molly Dunne wasn’t amongst the trio to hit the Eglish net. Instead, it was Cora McEvoy, Laura Loughnane and Laoise Stones that registered the defining three-pointers.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners