Official Website of the Camogie Association

Mullinavat 3-12           St Ibars/Shelmaliers   3-10
Twelve minutes of normal time to go and 10 points clear Mullinavat were coasting home for their first Leinster title. Or so it seemed. But Wexford teams are renowned for their never-say-die spirit reports Gerry O'Sullivan. Deirdre McMahon began the fightback with a great point and then Katrina Parrock goaled from a Niamh Walsh centre. Next up in the 52nd  minute came a palmed goal by Michelle Murphy to leave just three points between the sides.
But Mullinavat showed superb resilience when needed most. A wonderful display by centre back Elaine Aylward began the move that led to Michelle Quilty placing Rebecca Haberlin for a crucial goal. St Ibars however weren't finished. Kate Kelly at midfield and the great hearted Bridget Curran at centre back found renewed energy and with four minutes left Michelle Hearne got on the end of another centre to palm to the net.
The crowd responded as both sides chased the clinching score. Mistakes were made on both sides but Mullinavat made the fewer and player of the match Julie-Ann Malone knocked over a great point to be followed by another from Michelle Quilty. Still there was a kick left in St Ibars and they still managed to fire home two points.
Kate Kelly was on target with two pointed 45s in the opening 5 minutes for St Ibars but her next four efforts in the remainder of the game went astray. Mullinavat got a hold of the game in the second quarter and a goal from Julie-Ann Malone and points from Aine Kinsella, Rebecca Haberlin, Michelle Quilty and Ciara Holden pushed them 5 points clear. Another goal from Malone on the stroke of half-time seemed to be the clincher as did four points on the trot in the second half from Malone, Holden, Leanne Fennelly and Michelle Quilty. But St Ibars turned the game around in dramatic fashion and will wonder why it took them so long.
Mullinavat Scorers
Julie-Ann Malone (2-2); M Quilty (0-4), Rebecca Haberlin (1-3), Ciara Holden (0-2), Aine Kinsella (0-1),
St Ibars/Shelmaliers
Katrina Parrock (1-3); Kate Kelly (0-4), Michelle Murphy (1-1), Michelle Hearne (1-0), Shelly Doyle (0-1), Deirdre McMahon (0-1), 
Valerie Law, Sinead Phelan, Sinead Aylward, Joanne Quinn, Paula Butler, Elaine Aylward, Claire Aylward, Aine Kinsella, Amy Butler, Miriam Frisby, Leanne Fennelly, Ciara Holden, Michelle Quilty, Julie-Ann Malone, Rebecca Haberlin
St Ibars/Shelmaliers
Sandy Carr, Ciara Donohoe, Leona Tector, Maeve Quill, Fiona Cullen, Bridget Curran, Sharron Daly, Aine Lacey, Katrina Parrock, Anne-Marie Kelly, Kate Kelly, Shelly Doyle,  Deirdre McMahon, Michelle Hearne, Michelle Murphy
Subs: Hazel O’Leary and Niamh Walsh
Referee: Alan Lagrue (Kildare)

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners