Official Website of the Camogie Association

Munster Senior Camogie final @ Cashel
Cork 6-12 – Clare 0-03

Cork dealt a harsh lesson to Clare in Saturday evening’s Munster Senior Camogie final, winning on a 6-12 to 0-3 scoreline.
Cork, who had the majority of play in the first half had scored 5-4 to Clare’s 2 points by the half way stage, with their goals coming
from the 10 to 18 minute as their forwards blitzed the Clare defence. Cork opened the scoring with a Sile Burns point, and added on 2 more points, a second for Burns and a free from Jennifer O’Leary before Denise Cronin eventually found the Clare net in the 8th minute after Susan Vaughan in Clares goals had twice stopped Cronins attempts but was unsuccessful in clearing the ball after the second shot. Burns raised a green flag for Cork 2 minutes later when her hand pass flew over the head of Vaughan. Cronin goaled again after Cork won the resulting puckout, and Linda Dorgan added another mid way through the half. Katriona Mackey made it goal no 5 in the 18th minute, ensuring that all the Cork full forward line had green flags. Deirdre Murphy pointed a free for Clare in the 19th minute and again in the 30 minute Murphy converted another free to bring the half time score 5-4 to 0-2 in favour of Cork. Clare had a more spirited performance in the second half but it was an uphill battle they faced. Cork added another 5 points before Cronin goaled in the 20 minute, Deirdre Murphy converted a 45 for Clare in the 29 minute leaving the last score of the game to Corks Briege Corkery. Bridie O’Looney of Munster Council presented the player of the game award to Anna Geary of Cork and Camogie President Joan O’Flynn presented the trophy to Cork captain Rena Buckley.

Cork: Aoife Murray, Jenny Duffy, Elaine O’Riordan, Pamela Mackey, Caroline Motherway, Rena Buckley(Capt), Anna Geary, Orla Cotter, Briege Corkery 0-1, Eimear O’Sullivan 0-1, Linda Dorgan 1-02, Jennifer O’Leary 0-3 F, Sile Burns 1-03 1F, Denise Cronin 3-01, Katriona Mackey 1-01
Subs: Joanne Casey for Sile Burns(H/T), Eimear White for Aoife Murray 47 min, Amanda O’Regan for Caroline Motherway 43 min, Maria Walsh for Linda Dorgan 49 min
Clare: Susan Vaughan, Helen McMahon, Chloe Morey, Sinead O’Loughlin, AnneMarie McMahon, Roisin McMahon, Ashling Hannon, Kate Lynch, Ruth Kaiser, Sharon McMahon, Fiona Lafferty, Shonagh Enright, Mairead Scanlon, Deirdre Murphy 0-3 2F 1 45, Aiveen O’Shea
Subs: Aine O’Brien for Roisin McMahon, Patricia O’Loughlin for Mairead Scanlon, Aimee McInerney for Sinead O’Loughlin – all H/T, Norah Murphy for Aiveen O’Shea 43 min, Eireann Hennessey for Sharon McMahon 53 min
Player of the Game Anna Geary Cork
Ref Eamon Browne, Tipperary

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners