Official Website of the Camogie Association



A big crowd is expected in Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday for the clash of Munster champions Limerick and Cork in the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship. The home side, no doubt, will be seeking revenge since losing that historic provincial final. Interestingly, this is the seventh meeting of the teams in the past two years, sharing three wins apiece to date.

The Shannonsiders, who are captained by Ahane’s Niamh Mulcahy, made a disappointing start to their campaign suffering a narrow one-point loss to Offaly in Round 1. This year they welcome back Sarah Carey to her familiar centre-back position, and manager John Tuohy is boosted as well by the return of 2016 captain Lorraine McCarthy who has recovered from a cruciate injury. Fiona Hickey is also available for this crucial tie having missed the Offaly game as she was on her honeymoon.
Several of the victorious All-Ireland Minor team from 2014 are now regulars in the Senior lineout – the likes of Laura O’Neill, Sinéad McNamara, Karen O’Leary, Caoimhe Costelloe, Deborah Murphy and Rebecca Delee. The 2017 Minor captain and 2016 Soaring Star nominee Dearbhla Egan has made a few starts too this season in attack. Management can also call on Niamh Ryan and Caoimhe Lyons who were part of the UL Ashbourne winning side in February. But Mairéad Ryan who impressed in the league has a knee injury while Marguerite McCarthy misses out as well.
Meanwhile, Cork have enjoyed a positive start to the championship following their victory over Tipperary. They are captained by Inniscarra’s Rena Buckley, and the high profile dual player’s sole focus this season is Camogie. However, it is still unclear if Briege Corkery will return– the Cloughduv player has not been involved with either code yet this year.
However, and despite some of the Intermediate players not being available due to their away fixture with Carlow, Paudie Murray’s squad should be formidable opponents. Orla Cotter, Hannah Looney, Amy O’Connor and Libby Coppinger were among the score getters against the Blue and Gold and they should be to the fore again.
Julia White and Pamela Mackey are both out with leg injuries though. Mackey is continuing her rehab but this match may come too soon for her. Her twin sister Katrina will face a late fitness test, as will Eimear O’Sullivan. Chloe Sigerson and Lauren Homan will be looking forward to getting back to the action after completing their Leaving Cert this week
Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship Group 2: Cork v Limerick, Páirc Uí Rinn, Saturday June 24th, 2.30pm. Referee: Fintan McNamara (Clare)
Limerick Team
1.  Laura O'Neill – Na Piarsaigh
2. Fiona Hickey – Granagh Ballingarry
3. Muireann Creamer – Cappamore
4.  Sinéad Mc Namara – Na Piarsaigh
5.  Niamh Ryan – Bruff
6. Sarah Carey – Granagh Ballingarry
7. Judith Mulcahy – Ahane 
8. Karen O'Leary – Newcastle West
9. Caoimhe Costelloe – Adare
10. Deborah Murphy – Newcastle West
11. Rebecca Delee – Newcastle West
12. Niamh Mulcahy – Ahane, Capt
13. Aisling Scanlan – Killeedy
14. Orla Curtin – Ahane
15. Dearbhla Egan – Crecora
16. Claire Keating – Cappamore
17. Cliona Lane – Adare
18. Mairead Fitzgerald – Granagh Ballingarry
19. Sarah Collins – Crecora
20. Neamh Curtin – Ballybrown
21. Marian Quaid – Bruff
22. Lisa Leonard – Cappamore
23. Caoimhe Lyons – Monaleen
24. Laura Stack – Milford
25. Chloe O'Brien – Ballyagran
26. Siobhan Enright – Granagh Ballingarry
27. Síle Moynihan – Ahane
28. Sophie O'Callaghan – Adare
29. Mairéad Ryan – Clooney Quinn
30. Lorraine McCarthy – Bruff
Manager – John Tuohy
Cork Team
1 Aoife Murray – Cloughduv
2 Meabh Cahalane – St Finbarrs
3 Rena Buckley – Inniscarra Capt
4 Laura Treacy – Killeagh                                         
5 Eimear O'Sullivan – Ballinhassig
6 Gemma O'Connor – St. Finbarrs
7 Chloe Sigerson – Killeagh
8 Libby Coppinger – St. Colums
9 Ashling Thompson – Milford
10 Amy O'Connor – St. Vincents
11 Orla Cronin – Enniskeane
12 Orla Cotter – St. Catherines  
13 Hannah Looney – Killeagh
14 Niamh Mc Carthy – Inniscarra
15 Katriona Mackey – Douglas
16 Amy Lee – Na Piarsaigh
17 Leanne O'Sullivan-  Glen Rovers
18 Finola Neville – St. Catherines
19 Linda Collins – Courcey Rovers 
20 Pamela Mackey – Douglas
21 Julia White – Douglas
22 Rachel O'Shea – Carrigaline
23 Roisin Kileen – Ballyhea
24 Jennifer Barry – Bride Rovers
25 Lauren Homan – St. Vincents
26 Maeve McCarthy – Sarsfields
Manager – Paudie Murray
Full Fixtures:
Saturday June 24th
Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship (Group 2)
Cork v Limerick, 2.30pm, Páirc Uí Rinn, Fintan McNamara (Clare)
Wexford v Offaly, 2.30pm, Innovate Wexford Park, Ray Kelly (Kildare)
Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Intermediate Championship (Group 1)
Kildare v Antrim, 2.30pm, Clane GAA, Aiden O’Brien (Wexford)
Kilkenny v Derry, 2.30pm, Danesfort GAA, John Dermody (Westmeath)
Tipperary v Wexford, 2.30pm, The Ragg, Andrew Larkin (Cork)
Liberty Insurance All Ireland Intermediate Championship (Group 2)
Carlow v Cork, 2.30pm, Netwatch Training Centre, Fenagh, Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)
Down v Laois, 2.30pm, Aghaderg GAA, Peter Dowd (Meath)

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners