Official Website of the Camogie Association

The 3rd Level Camogie AGM took place on the 25th September 2010.  The AGM marks the start for College’s Camogie and with the success of last year competitions; this year is one which is eagerly anticipated. 

This year we have four new officers and whilst change can be a good thing, the four outgoing officers leave big places to fill.  After a total of six years on the executive, two as President Lynn Kelly has completed her term and will step down to be

d by DKIT’s Shane Darcy.  Lynn oversaw massive developments in 3rd level camogie including the hugely successful joint Ashbourne and Purcell Competitions.  Also leaving the Executive is Secretary Lizzie Flynn.  Lizzie also played a huge role in the development of Colleges camogie.  Her hard work and commitment to the role were second to none and the success of Ashbourne and Purcell competitions was largely in part down to the hard work of Lizzie and Keith Ricken of CIT.  Former UCD player Rena Buckley will take over Lizzie’s role.
Also stepping down is Registrar Liz Murphy, DKIT Student and former Bursary winner Marie Greenan will commence her role as Registrar.  After numerous years as Treasurer and a stalwart of Colleges Camogie Treasurer Aidan Mulligan will be

d by WIT student and another former Bursary winner Karen Kelly.

We would like to thank all the outgoing officers for their hard work and commitment to Third Level Camogie and we wish the incoming officers all the best in their new roles.

After the success of the first ever joint Ashbourne and Purcell Competitions it was agreed that the competitions would again take the same format and be played on the same weekend.  The 2011 competitions will be hosted by NUIG and will take place on the 19th and 20th February. 

The main point of interest at the AGM were the championship draws.  First up was the draw for the Ashbourne and Purcell Qualifier which saw Ashbourne Shield semi final losers NUIG and AIT drawn against Purcell Cup Finalists DIT and IT Tralee.  The Galway side will play host to DIT while IT Tralee will have home advantage to AIT.  The qualifiers will take place on or before 27th November 2010. 

2010 Ashbourne Cup winners WIT will travel to play the winners of DIT and NUIG, UL will travel to UUJ and UCD will play the winners of IT Tralee and AIT.  In an all Cork affair beaten Cup finalists UCC will welcome old rivals CIT.  The quarter finals of the Ashbourne will take place on or before the 5th February 2011. 

This year sees the largest number of teams competing in Third Level Camogie.  The first round of the league fixtures will be played on the week ending 15th October and fixtures will be released in the coming days.  Division 1 and 2 will follow the same format as previous years and are split into sections.  Division 1A will see UCC, CIT, UL and WIT competing and Division 1B UCD, NUIG, UUJ and QUB will compete for top spot with the winners of each group qualifying for the final.  Thirteen teams will compete in Division 2 AIT and Mary I drop down from division one.  NUIM, St Pats, UCD 2, DIT, DCU, AIT and Trinity make up the teams in Division 2A and the teams competing in Division 2B are IT Carlow, IT Tralee, UL 2, WIT 2, UCC 2 and Mary I.

Division 3 teams will play in one day regional blitzes with dates to be confirmed.  The Division 3 teams are GMIT, IT Tralee 2, Letterkenny IT, Crumlin College of F.E., DKIT, LIT, Coleraine, St Marys, Tipperary Institute, Marino and Froebel.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners