Official Website of the Camogie Association


                          Shannon Rovers Claim First Munster Title.


North Munster Camogie Division 2 Final.


Shannon Rovers  4.10    Holycross 0.4


                                                     By: Rose Mannion.


Shannon Rovers Senior team took hold of the Munster League Division 2 title for the first time on Friday evening last in Toomevara when the side had a well deserved win over Holycross / Ballycahill in the final.


A relatively new competition, Rovers entered for the first time this year and have played six games out of seven. When Rovers and Holycross met earlier, five points separated the sides with Holycross the victors on that occasion but both sides however were fielding without their full compliment due to county commitments.


Shannon Rovers began at a whirlwind pace with Olive Guest operating from centre forward finding the uprights. Holycross claimed a “”45″” which Noreen Flanagan slotted over to level proceedings but then Lorraine Davis won the puck out and driving the ball from mid field, full forward Claire Horan caught, turned and struck low to the back of the Holycross net.


Both sides experienced erratic shooting for a period as the pressure mounted but Tess (Burke) O’Meara was working very hard which brought about Rovers second goal from Aoife McLoughney. Holycross were struggling and hit a purple patch as Rovers overcame in all sectors of the pitch adding a further 2.2, Aoife McLoughney 0.1, Claire Horan 1.1, Olive Guest 1.0. and Holycross corner forward Maura Fanning got her only score as the first half closed.


The second half belonged to Rovers with Lorraine Davis causing major problems for Holycross and as points followed from Aoife McLoughney 0.3, Una O’Rourke 0.2, Lorraine Davis 0.1, Rovers were in particularly fine form. A disappointing Holycross side could only work up a tally of two scores, both from frees and from Noreen Flanagan and while they did try somewhat harder in this half to make more use of the possession, Rovers continued to close them down.


Scorers: Shannon Rovers: Claire Horan 2.1, Olive Guest 1.1, Aoife McLoughney 1.5 (0.3f), Una O’Rourke 0.2, Lorraine Davis 0.1. Holycross: Noreen Flanagan 0.3 (0.1″”45″”, 0.2f), Maura Fanning 0.1.


Shannon Rovers: Rita Burke (Captain), Naoibh Larkin, Sabrina Larkin, Maria Kennedy, Sinead Cahalan, Amanda Burke, Ashling McKenna, Lorraine Davis, Laura Brophy, Una O’Rourke, Olive Guest, Tess (Burke) O’Meara,Grainne Horan, Claire Horan, Aoife McLoughney. Subs: Joanne Hogan for G. Horan, Julie Brennan for C. Horan, Jackie O’Sullivan for O. Guest, Lisa Kelly for L. Brophy, Laura Tierney for A. Burke.

Holycross: Sarah O’Dwyer, Linda Ryan, Mags Shanahan, Kiera Heffernan, Fiona Judge, Siobhan Ryan, Kerry Ann Gleeson, Sandra O’Dwyer, Laura Dwan, Emma Spillane, Grainne O’Dowde, Linda Fanning, Noreen Flanagan, Siobhan Maher, Maura Fanning. Subs: Margaret Fanning for L. Ryan, Laura Molloy for Mags Shanahan, Sarah Gleeson for K.A. Gleeson, Megan Stapleton for M. Fanning, Zoe Clegg for L. Dwan.


Player of the match:    Tess (Burke) O’Meara (Shannon Rovers).



Referee:  Eamonn Browne (Knockavilla).



Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners