Official Website of the Camogie Association

Wexford 2-11 Waterford 1-12

Last Saturday our U16’s lifted the All Ireland B cup for the first time since 1995. Captained by Shauna Sinnott this group of girls provided a great display of camogie as well as a fantastic team performance. Wexford were first off the mark when a ball passed in by Marie-Clare Morrissey was picked up by Susie McGovern which she lodged into the Waterford net in the opening minute. Waterford were awarded a 45 in the 4th minute which was taken by mid-fielder and captain Michelle Tobin who pointed.

Caroline Farrelly added another point for Waterford from play. Wexford applied pressure on the Waterford backs and a nice passage of play from Susie McGovern to Mairead Sheehan who found Marie-Clare Morrissey who pointed. Morrissey’s attempt at goal in the same minute was solidly blocked by the Waterford keeper Helen O’Donnell. Waterford closed the gap when Aoife Hannon pointed from play in the 7th and then went on to equalise with a point from play. Tara Sommers won a ball for Wexford passing it to Morrissey who pointed to put Wexford one ahead.

Waterford went on the attack again and a dangerous ball by Hannon was batted out by Siobhan O’Regan who was solid in defence. Waterford were awarded a free in the 12th which was pointed by Tobin to level the sides again. Niamh Murphy worked hard to clear the ball out of the danger area passing to Fiona Donnellan who set up an attack finding McGovern who picked out Louise Sinnott whose attempt on goal was cleared by the goalie, the clearance won by Emma Walsh who found Morrissey laying the ball off to Sheehan resulting in a well worked point for Wexford.

This point put Wexford one ahead again. Louise Sinnott and Tobin exchanged points, Laura Warren and Louise Sinnott then added to more points for Wexford and Hannon added two more points for Waterford one from and free and one from a 45 to see the half time score Wexford 1-6 Wat erford0-8.

Wexford started off brightly in the second half and McGovern pointed from an acute angle.  There were a lot of battles for possession and Wexford were awarded a free in the 5th which was taken by Louise Sinnott who pointed to put three points between the sides.  Sinnott added two more points both from 45’s and Mairead Sheehan added another from play putting six points between the sides in the 14th and it looked as if Wexford were home and dry, but a determined Waterford side dug deeep and Michelle Tobin put two points over both from frees in quick succession to narrow Wexford’s lead. 

This raised Waterford’s spirit and full forward Ruth Geoghegan pointed from play leaving just three between the sides. Wateford continued to apply pressure and were rewarded with a goal by Tobin in the 22nd to level the sides. Wexford showed great determination as Donnellan battelled for a ball and coming out on top found McGovern who skillfully put the ball in the back of the net in the 25th leaving Wexford three ahead.  Waterford sub Jessica Gleeson pointed on full time for Wateford and with three minutes injury time added on the tension on the sideline was palpable. 

Wexford kept their focus and denied Wateford any further scores and held on to their two point lead.  There were great scenes of celebration  as Referee Donal Leahy blew the final whistle to see Wexford winning their first under 16 trophy in 14 years and the third All Ireland win for Wexford teams in the last couple of weeks. Camogie President Joan O’Flynn presented the winning Captain Shauna Sinnott with the cup before announcing that the player of the match was Susie McGovern.
Wexford: Katie Flynn; Clara McGuinness, Shannen O’Connell, Siobhan O’Regan;  Fiona Donnellan, Shauna Sinnott (Capt) (0-6), Niamh Murphy; Laura Warren (0-1); Louise Sinnott; Susie McGovern (2-1), Mairead Sheehan (0-2), Shannen Byrne; Emma Walsh, Maire Claire Morrissey (0-2), Tara Somers.

Subs: Jemma Doyle, Kay Mernagh, Leanne Hore for Shannen Byrne, Amanda Scallan, Mairead Lancaster, Margaret Byrne, Ciara Murphy, Kate Cullen, Hayley Cahill, Maire Doran, Gillian Murphy, Niamh O’Mahony, Orla Doyle.
Waterford: Helen O’Donnell; Shauna Prendergast, Clara Hogan, Sarah McGlone; Shannon Denton, Niamh Prendergast, Gemma Burke; Niamh Rockett, Michelle Tobin (0-5); Aoife Hannon (1-5) Ciara Moore, Valerie O’Brien; Caroline Farrelly, Ruth Geoghegan, Una Jackman.

Subs: Clare Whyte for Shannon Denton, Ciara Hallahan, Amy Beecher, Gemma Reaney, Niamh Behan, Kate Ryan, Aine McCarthy, Jessica Gleeson (0-1) for Caroline Farrelly

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners