Official Website of the Camogie Association




20th APRIL 2011



As both Leinster and Ulster had convincing wins over Munster, this clash was to be the æfinal’ of the tournament. Leinster appeared the fresher team in the opening ten minutes as they raced into a 2-1 lead after goals from Noelle Maher and Aoife Sheil. However, the introduction of Aisling Ward to the Ulster full forward line proved an inspiration as she scored two goals in two minutes to bring the Ulster side back into the game. Both teams exchanged points before the break to leave the sides on level terms at half time; 2-3 each.

The pace of the game was upped in the 2nd half and we were treated to one of the finest 30 minutes of Camogie played this year. There was little between the sides and despite Leinster finding the back of the Ulster net on four occasions in the half with superb goals from Kelly Hamilton, Noelle Maher again, Aoife Sheil again and a real classy goal from Shelly Farrell, Ulster did not panic and kept the scoreboard ticking over with points. Leinster relied on goals and found it hard to get the space to put over the points from far out whereas Ulster took scores regularly. Some positional changes and fresh legs helped the Ulster side and the last ten minutes was a real nail biting encounter. A Leinster goal was quickly cancelled out by a goal from the very lively Joanne Mullan. A strong run from Leinster centre half back produced another goal for Leinster but Laura Hughes raced through to reduce the gap to two points. Anna Kelly then set up Bronagh McGillian and Aisling Ward for two successive scores and the teams were level again. The crowd were hoping this would never end and were looking forward to extra time but deep into injury time, Ulster’s Anna Kelly pointed from 30m out and the Interprovincial trophy was going North for the first time in the history of the competition. Final score: Ulster 3-14 Leinster 6-4
Congratulations to both teams and to their mentors for treating us to a fast and classy final played under splendid conditions at St Peregrines.

Ulster scorers: A Ward 2-1, J Mullan 1-3, L Hughes 0-3, E Keenan 0-2, K Kielt 0-3, B McGillian and A Kelly 0-1 each
Leinster scorers: Noelle Maher 2-0, Kelly Hamilton 1-0, Shelly Farrell 1-4, Aoife Sheil 2-0.

Ulster College’s All Star Panel: Karen Kielt, Mary Kelly, Teresa McElroy (St Patrick’s Maghera) Maria Mooney (Captain) (Loreto Coleraine), Rachel Mulholland, Sarah McAllister, Eilish Keenan (St Mary’s Magherafelt), Maire Mulholland, Maedhbh Laverty (St Dominic’s Belfast), Cara Fitzgerald, Aisling Jordan (St Patrick’s Dungannon), Bronagh McGillian (St Colm’s Draperstown), Dania Donnelly (St Pius X Magherafelt), Anna Kelly (St Louis Ballymena), Samantha McKillen (Cross and Passion Ballycastle), Aisling Ward (St Killian’s Garron Tower), Danielle Toner (Assumption Ballynahinch), Lauren Watterson (Sacred Heart Newry), Coleen Murtagh (St Mark’s Warrenpoint), Joanne Mullan (St Catherine’s Armagh), Laura Hughes (Our Lady & St Patrick’s Knock) and Niamh Mallon (St Columba’s Portaferry)

Leinster College’s All Star Panel: Siobhan O’Regan (Loreto Wexford), Susie McGovern (Loreto Wexford), Kate McCarry (Mount Temple), Noelle Maher (Loreto Kilkenny), The outstanding Grace Walsh (Loreto Kilkenny), Laura Walker (St Brigids Callan), Jennifer Cunningham (St Brigids Callan), Kelly Hamilton (Grennan College), Meighan Farrell (Grennan College), Shelly Farrell (Callan), Eve O’Brien (Dominican College), Emma Whyte (Loreto Crumlin), Amy Dillon (St Marys New Ross), Aoife Lyng (St Marys New Ross), Orlaith Walsh, Niamh Byrne, Aoife Sheil, Shauna Sinnott.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners