Official Website of the Camogie Association

AIB honour #TheToughest club players 
Camogie, Hurling and Football players receive #TheToughest club accolade
AIB, sponsor of both the GAA and Camogie Club Championships, honoured eleven club players from Camogie, Hurling and Football at #TheToughest club player awards. The recipients were voted for by national and regional GAA media and the criteria focused on their overall performance in their club games throughout 2013.  
This is the first year that camogie players have been honoured for their contribution to the club championships. Munster recipient, Marie O’Neill, from Milford and Connacht winner, Aoife Lynskey, from Ardrahan, will meet in Croke Park this Sunday, March 2nd in the AIB camogie club finals when Milford Camogie Club seek to secure back-to-back All Ireland club camogie titles. 
The Ulster camogie accolade was awarded to Derry club team member, Eoghan Rua’s Meabh McGoldrick, who won the Ulster title this year while the Leinster award was welcomed by Mullinavat’s Julie Anne Malone. 
All four football recipients enjoyed huge success with their clubs this year, reaching the semi-final stages of the competition. Leinster recipient and 2008 club All Ireland medal winner, Mossy (Tomás) Quinn was honoured today. Mossy’s St. Vincent’s team meet Castlebar Mitchel’s on March 17th and Castlebar man, Richie Feeney, has been awarded the Connacht #TheToughest footballer award. Other provincial football performance awards went to Dr. Crokes’ star forward, Johnny Buckley and gutsy Ballinderry Shamrocks defender, Gareth McKinless. 
Carlow’s Mount Leinster Rangers’ club man, Richard Coady has enjoyed a truly special club championship season to date and Coady has secured another significant win by securing the Leinster hurling nomination for 2013. Other hurling recipients include David Breen from Na Piarsaigh and two time award recipient and 2012 All Ireland medal winner, Eddie McCloskey from Loughgiel Shamrocks.  
Speaking at the AIB #TheToughest player awards, Tom Kinsella, AIB Marketing Director said: “We’re delighted to honour some of the country’s greatest club camogie, hurling and football stars at our annual #TheToughest player awards. We are particularly delighted to welcome the addition of camogie players to our #TheToughest player awards as we enjoy our first year sponsoring the camogie club championships.  We feel that it is important to recognise each player’s achievements in what is the toughest competition of them all. 
Tom continued: “I would like to take this opportunity to thank the national and regional GAA media for taking the time to cast their votes and for their continued support for the AIB GAA club championships competition.” 
Five of this year’s #TheToughest winners will be vying for All Ireland club glory with their teams on March 2nd and March 17th in Croke Park. 
For exclusive content and to see why the AIB Club Championships is the ‘Toughest of them all’ follow us @AIB_GAA and #theToughest
2013 AIB #TheToughest Award Winners
Pictured (l-r) Meabh McGoldrick, Marie O'Neill, Tom Kinsella, AIB, Aileen Lawlor, Camogie Assoc President, Julie Ann Malone, Aoife Lynskey
Aoife Lynskey, Ardrahan 
Julie Anne Malone, Mullinavat,
Marie O’Neill, Milford,
Meabh McGoldrick, Eoghan Rua,
Richie Feeney, Castlebar Mitchel’s
Mossy (Tomás) Quinn, St. Vincent’s
Johnny Buckley, Dr. Crokes
Gareth McKinless, Ballinderry Shamrocks 
Richard Coady, Mount Leinster Rangers
David Breen, Na Piarsaigh 
Eddie McCloskey, Loughgiel Shamrocks 
** No award for Connacht given automatic qualification
For further information:
AIB GAA Team @ Wilson Hartnell 
Aoife McDonald / Sam O’Byrne
01 6690030 / 087 4100777 / 087 6601908 

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners