Official Website of the Camogie Association

Eleven Camogie, Football and Hurling Players Receive AIB GAA Provincial Club Player Awards
AIB, sponsor to both the GAA and Camogie Club Championships, has honoured eleven club players from camogie, football and hurling at the 20th AIB GAA Provincial Club Player Awards. Voted for by national and regional sports media, the players were selected based on their overall performance throughout the 2015/16 club season.
Killimor’s own Susan Keane was the first star to be honoured at the ceremony hosted in Croke Park. The Galway sharpshooter took home the Connacht camogie award thanks to her goal scoring prowess throughout their campaign, two of which came in the Galway final against Ardrahan.
The Ulster camogie club gong was awarded to Emma McFadden of Loughgiel Shamrocks. Emma is the anchor of her team at centre back and often the springboard for attack. With an excellent read of the game, she covered every blade of grass in defence as the Shamrocks stormed to Ulster glory.
Ciara Storey, daughter of 1996 All-Ireland winning captain Martin, followed in his footsteps as she skippered Oulart the Ballagh ladies to back-to-back Leinster success. The Wexford team claimed its sixth Leinster Club Camogie title in six years, a game where Ciara’s leadership and drive was pivotal.
Milford stalwart, Ashling Thompson, scooped the Munster camogie club player of the year award thanks to her performances for the Cork side to date. The All-Ireland winner is a vital cog in the Milford machine and well deserved of the award.
In hurling, it was Ruairi Og talisman Neil McManus that took home the Ulster hurling award for the Cushendall side. Hailing from the hurling hotspot that is the Glens of Antrim McManus plies his trade at midfield and wing forward and has been instrumental for his club in every game so far.
Na Piarsaigh’s Kevin Downes burst onto the scene as one of the most exciting young forwards in the game and as the Limerick man matures towards his peak years, he has been key to his club’s provincial success. It was his scintillating performances in the club championships so far which saw the big full forward rack up huge tallies earning him Munster club hurler of the year.
It was double delight for Oulart the Ballagh as another one of their own picked up a provincial club award. Midfielder, David Redmond, was nominated as Leinster club hurler of the year following his barnstorming performance against Cuala that gave Oulart their long-awaited maiden Leinster crown.
In the football, Castlebar Mitchel’s Barry Moran was named Connacht club footballer of the year. The six foot five inch midfielder, known for his acrobatic high-fielding, took the honours for his brilliant performance in the Connacht final which saw the Mayo men put current All-Ireland holders to the sword, a game in which Moran helped himself to 1-2.
Tony Kernan is the embodiment of Crossmaglen Rangers – he has won it all and adds another notch to his belt with this nomination for Ulster club player of the year. The Armagh deadeye, lethal from placed balls, showed what he was made of registering 1-6 in the Ulster club final win against Scotstown.
A first Leinster title for Ballyboden St. Endas saw Andrew Kerin receive the Leinster award. Kerin is renowned in Dublin football circles as a model of consistency. He’ll be looking forward replicating his performances when his side line out to face Clonmel Commercials on the 13th of February.
The Munster football award went to Clonmel Commercials’ Michael Quinlivan. As one of Tipperary’s biggest talents in football, Quinlivan helped his club overcome club kingpins Nemo Rangers with a last minute goal to claim a historic Munster football club championship title for the Tipp team.
Speaking at the AIB GAA Provincial Club Player Awards, Denis O’Callaghan, AIB Head of Distribution said:
“AIB are delighted to honour some of the country’s greatest club camogie, hurling and football stars at our annual club player awards. There have been some great games in the competition so far, and I think everyone is looking forward to all the up and coming Semi-Finals over the coming weeks”.
Denis continued “I would like to take this opportunity to thank the national and regional GAA media for taking the time to cast their votes and for their continued support for the AIB GAA Club Championships competition.”
For exclusive content and to see why AIB are backing Club and County follow us @AIB_GAA and on Facebook at
2015/16 AIB GAA Provincial Club Player Award Winners
Connacht – Susan Keane, Killimor
Leinster – Ciara Storey, Oulart The Ballagh
Munster – Ashling Thompson, Milford
Ulster – Emma McFadden, Loughiel Shamrocks
Connacht – Barry Moran, Castlebar Mitchels
Leinster – Andrew Kerin, Ballyboden St. Endas
Munster – Michael Quinlivan, Clonmel Commercials
Ulster – Tony Kernan, Crossmaglen Rangers
Leinster – David Redmond, Oulart the Ballagh
Munster – Kevin Downes, Na Piarsaigh
Ulster – Neil McManus, Ruairi Og
*No award for Connacht given automatic qualification
For further information:
AIB GAA Team @ Wilson Hartnell
Rachel Solon / David Treacy /  
01 6690030 / 087 6245326 / 087 6534575

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners