Official Website of the Camogie Association

Down who won the Liberty Insurance Premier Junior title last month dominate the Soaring Stars team with seven players making the final line-up while finalists Laois take four places.
The awards will be presented at a black-tie event in the Citywest Hotel on November 1st.
Down’s Karen Tinnelly and Ciara McGovern are named at corner-back and full-back respectively while Lisa McAliskey is named at centre-back with Fionnuala Carr taking the wing-back spot. Karen McMullan is named at midfield and team captain Niamh Mallon and Catherine McGourty are amongst the forwards.
Laois goalkeeper Laura Dunne, wing-back Eimear Delaney and forwards Sarah-Anne Fitzgerald and Niamh Dollard have all been rewarded for their displays this season. Roscommon have received two Soaring Star awards with Kelly Hopkins named at corner-forward and Annette McGeeney at wing-forward.
The final two places go to Dinah Loughlin of Westmeath who has been named at midfield and Deirdre Johnstone of Dublin who collects her first Soaring Star award at corner-back.
All Ireland winning Limerick duo Niamh Mulcahy and Caoimhe Costello will each collect an Intermediate Soaring Star award as will Catherine Foley of Kilkenny.
Cork’s All Ireland winning manager Paudie Murray, Joe Quaid of Limerick and Down’s Alastair McGilligan have all been nominated for the Manager of the Year which will be announced on November 1st. Tickets for this year’s event are available to purchase by accessing
Speaking about the announcement President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said:
“Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients who will collect a valued and coveted award. The Soaring Stars are a national acknowledgement of the skill, dedication and commitment demonstrated by our players as they represent their counties during the course of the season. I also want to congratulate the Manager of the Year nominees who have achieved the ultimate honour with their respective teams.”
2014 Soaring Stars team in association with Liberty Insurance
Laura Dunne (Laois) Karen Tinnelly (Down) Ciara McGovern (Down) Deirdre Johnstone (Dublin) Eimear Delaney (Laois) Lisa McAliskey (Down) Fionnuala Carr (Down) Dinah Loughlin (Westmeath) Karen McMullan (Down) Annette McGeeney (Roscommon) Sarah-Anne Fitzgerald (Laois) Catherine McGourty (Down) Niamh Mallon (Down) Niamh Dollard (Laois) Kelly Hopkins (Roscommon)
2014 Intermediate Soaring Stars in association with Liberty Insurance
Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick) Caoimhe Costello (Limerick) Catherine Foley (Kilkenny)
2014 Manager of the Year nominees
Paudie Murray (Cork) Alastair McGilligan (Down) Joe Quaid (Limerick)
2014 Camogie All-Stars in association with Liberty Insurance, Citywest Hotel, November 1st. Tickets available to buy by downloading the All-Stars ticket order form

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners