Official Website of the Camogie Association



From Mary Newman

Ballincollig Take Cork Senior B Championship Title


Ballincollig 3-8 Eire Og 1-3

Ballincollig were crowned Evening Echo Senior B champions when they defeated divisional neighbours Eire og in Castle Road recently. The excellent pitch conditions made it easier on both teams despite the gale force wind that blew for much of the game which finished in downpour of rain and hail.

 Ballincollig made good use of their first half wind advantage and by the break led 2-5 to 0-3, Maire O’ Donoghue and Holly Coomey hitting goals at crucial stages as they laid the foundations for victory. Eire Og battled hard but they struggled in front of goal all their scores coming from frees as the Ballincollig defence played it tight never allowing them any room.

  Through the opening half Ballincollig were on top in vital sections of the pitch and at mid field Samantha Coomey and Sarah Buckley did trojan work as they keep their inside line supplied with quality ball and as they did Ballincollig slotted over the points Denise Cronin and Marie O’ Donoghue hit two and Leah Weste one as Margaret O Herlihy kept Eire og in the hunt with three from frees.

 Eire Og tried to get something from the second half but again the Ballincollig defence was on top limiting them to just  one score a goal from a Margaret O Herlihy forty five metre  at the three quarter stage that coming in reply to Leah Weste’s hand passed effort to the net as Ballincollig began to pull away.

All credit to Eire Og who never gave up and battled to the end but the day belonged to Ballincollig, as their mid fielder Samantha Coomey was named Player of the Match after an excellent display.

Scorers for Ballincollig: M O’ Donoghue 1-2 D Cronin 0-4 (0-2f 0-1 45″”), L Weste, H Coomey 1-1 each.

Eire Og: M O’ Herlihy 1-3 (1-2f 0-1 45″”)     

Ballincollig : A Sheehan; E O sullivan, A Kiely, A Coughlan; C Irish, K O’ Donoghue, A Cotter; S Buckley, S Coomey; O Ni chatsaigh, L Weste, D cronin; P Buttimer, M O Donoghue, H Coomey.

Subs A Lovett ( c) for O Ni Chatsaigh (45), C ryan for P Buttimer (54), B O’ Callaghan for E O’ Sullivan (56).

Eire Og: M Gleeson; E Kelleher, C Mc Kenna, S Gleeson; C Mc Kenna, C Meeney, K Mc Carthy;  C Mc Carthy, A Mc Carthy; A Mc Kenna ( c), L Murphy, M O’ Herlihy; R Murray,  A Mc Carthy, E Corkery. Subs: E Crowley for E Kelleher (22) C O Keeffe for C Mc Carthy (39),

 Ref: John O’ Leary (Mallow).  


Buttevant Double

By Mary Newman

Buttevant 1-9 Na Piarsaigh 0-8

Buttevant added the Junior B league to their championship crown as they finished their stay in the B grade with a league final victory over Na Piarsaigh under lights in Mallow recently.  Buttevant captain Dawn Farrell pointed to give the early advantage but Na Piarsaigh levelled with a Trisha Coleman point.  Eimear Healy was prominent for Buttevant as they put the Na Piarsaigh defence under a lot of pressure and hitting a goal and two points as her extended their lead, Gillian Morrissey replied pointing two Na Piarsaigh free to keep them in touch but Eimear Healy added two points to the Buttevant tally as Danielle Moynihan replied with one for Na Piarsaigh to leave Buttervant ahead 1-5 to 0-4 at the break. 

 Orla Bourke and  Eimear Healy swapped points on the resumption Michelle O’ Keeffe added one to put Buttevant five points ahead, Na Piarsaigh began to come more into the game  and they cut the Buttevant lead to three points Gillian Morrissey and Orla Bourke with a points each . 

Buttevant rallied Eimear Healy pointing a free but again Orla Bourke replied as Na
Piarsaigh went the distance and battled for the goal that would bring them back into the game however it was to be their last score as the Buttevant defence held firm as they went on to record a league /championship double to seal a successful season.    


Scorers for Buttevant: E Healy 1-7 (0-3f, 0-1 45″”) D Farrell, M O’ Keeffe 0-1each.

Na Piarsaigh: G Morrissey 0-3(f’s), O Bourke 0-3 (0-2f), T Coleman, D Moynihan 0-1each.

Buttevant: D O’ Keeffe;  J O’ Flynn, M Sheedy, N Crowley;  A Walsh, T Roche, S Breen, D Farrell(c),  E Harrington; S Buckley, N Curran, M O Keeffe, D O’ Callaghan, S Sheehan, E Healy.

Subs: R Harrington for D O’ Callaghan (40) E Madigan for S Buckley (50), L Harrington for M O’ Keeffe (50).
Na Piarsaigh: L Kelly; N O’ Donovan, S Sloane, T O’ Donovan; .L Burns, J Cronin, C Allen; G Morrissey, P Kearney; O Bourke, D Moynihan, D O’ Regan; K Delea,

M Coade, T Coleman.
Sub: S Roche for K Delea (55).



Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners