Official Website of the Camogie Association

Galway and Kilkenny dominate 2013 All Star team
All Ireland champions Galway and finalists Kilkenny shared eleven All Star awards at the tenth annual Camogie All Stars in association with Liberty Insurance presented tonight (November 2nd) at Citywest.  
Galway Manager Tony Ward received the Manager of the Year award having led Galway to two All Ireland titles (Senior & Intermediate) in September. 
Former All Ireland winning Cork goalkeeper Donal Óg Cusack and Chairman of the GPA (Gaelic Players Association) was this year’s special guest. 
Galway Goalkeeper Susan Earner and defensive trio, Sarah Dervan, Lorraine Ryan and Therese Maher along with midfielder Niamh Kilkenny, centre forward Niamh McGrath and corner forward Ailish O’Reilly were all rewarded for their All Ireland winning exploits this season.
Kilkenny’s Mairead Power and Edwina Keane in defence and wing and corner forwards Katie Power and Shelly Farrell represented the 2013 finalists in this season’s line-up.
Offaly’s Elaine Dermody collects her county’s first senior All Star award. The Drumcullen club player has been chosen at full-forward. Chloe Morey of Clare is named at wing-back and collects her first and the county’s second ever award.
Jennifer O’Leary of Cork was presented with her seventh All Star award at midfield. It caps a tremendous career for the midfielder who recently announced her inter-county retirement from Cork. Kate Kelly of Wexford was named at wing forward and collected her seventh All Star award. Kelly and O'Leary along with Gemma O'Connor of Cork, now hold the highest number of All Stars, since their inception in 2004.
Speaking at tonight’s event President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said: 
“This year’s awards ceremony capped another fantastic season for the Camogie Association. It is a tremendous honour to present the 10th Annual Camogie All Star awards and the event has grown since its inception in 2004. Next year marks the 110th anniversary of the Association and it will be a fantastic milestone which we are looking forward to celebrating very much throughout the year. 
The All Stars are a significant event for the Association and for players and supporters alike as they publicly acknowledge the contributions of individual players based on their performances throughout the year.  We are proud to acknowledge the wonderful achievements of these young women, who are strong ambassadors for the game of camogie.
It is a privilege to present the All Star, Soaring Star and Intermediate Soaring Stars and I want to congratulate each and every player this evening, who has been considered for an award and presented with one. I also extend my congratulations to Tony Ward on receiving the Manager of the Year accolade. 
Finally, I would like to thank our All Stars associate sponsors Liberty Insurance. This year was the first year of the Liberty Insurance championship and we are looking forward to building even further on that in the years ahead and strengthening our partnership.”
Pat O’Brien, CEO of Liberty Insurance associate sponsors of the 2013 All Stars awards said: 
"Liberty Insurance are delighted to be involved in celebrating the 2013 Camogie All Star Awards. Our first year as sponsor of the Senior, Intermediate and Junior Camogie Championships has coincided with one of the most memorable and scintillating seasons in many years, and I'd like to personally congratulate all of the nominees and winners here this evening". 
Watch video interview with Tony Ward Galway Manager & 2013 Manager of the Year : Tony Ward
2013 All Star Team 
Susan Earner (Galway), Mairead Power (Kilkenny), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Therese Maher (Galway), Chloe Morey (Clare), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Jennifer O’Leary (Cork), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Niamh McGrath( Galway), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Elaine Dermody (Offaly), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway).
2013 Soaring Stars Team 
Laura Dunne (Laois), Karen Tinnelly (Down), Aoife Trant (Kildare), Kate Aherne (Offaly)
Aishling Dunphy (Laois), Sarah Ann Fitzgerald (Laois), Angela Lyons (Kildare), Carol Anne Canning (Dublin), Orla Bambury (Kildare), Clodagh Flanagan (Kildare), Siobhan Hurley (Kildare), Louise Mahony (Laois), Denise McGrath (Westmeath), Susie O’Carroll (Kildare), Niamh Dollard (Laois)
2013 Intermediate Soaring Stars
Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Paula Kenny (Galway)
2013 Manager of the Year
Tony Ward (Galway)
Notes to the editor: 
Photographs of the 2013 All Stars in association with Liberty Insurance are available for syndication from Inpho Photograpy Email 
This is the 10th year of the Camogie All Stars and the first in association with Liberty Insurance
For videos of the Camogie All Stars in association with Liberty Insurance go to and follow on
*For further information contact Claire Egan, Communications & Marketing Director, The Camogie Association: Tel: 01 865 8618, 087 9030755 Email:

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners