Official Website of the Camogie Association

Goalkeeper Aoife Murray received the player of the game award at Pßirc UÝ Rinn as she defied Tipperary with a sparkling second half performance as the visitors pushed in vain for a goal which would have brought them back into contention.

The Rebelettes led comfortably by 2-6 to 0-5 at half-time and showed all of their big-game experience and know-how to withstand a spirited second half onslaught from Tipperary.

Emer O’Farrell struck Cork’s first goal after just six minutes after Sheila Burns was denied by Tipp goalkeeper Paula Ryan.

Burns was on target herself with Cork’s second goal as Ryan misjudged a long range effort and the sliotar sailed straight into the net from 40 yards.

Tipp never recovered from this double setback although Allstar Claire Grogan, who scored 0-9 in total, led the charge in the second half as the Premier County attempted to claw their way back into contention with the breeze at their backs.

Murray kept Tipp at bay with a couple of fine saves to keep out Jane Ryan and Geraldine Kinnane while at the other end, Cork tacked on some crucial second half scores to run out five-point winners. 

Rachel Moloney finished as top scorer for the winners with six points, including four from frees, while goal heroines Farrell and Burns both finished the game with 1-1 to their credit.

Meanwhile, there was another huge boost for Tyrone camogie last Saturday when the Red Hands captured an historic National League title.

The newly-crowned Ulster junior champions defeated Cavan 2-4 to 1-3 in a Division 5 blitz competition, which was held in Lacken, county Cavan.

Tyrone defeated Monaghan, Mayo, Wicklow and Cavan en route to glory as some of the game’s emerging counties provided some top-class fare.


Tyrone take silverware in Terrific Final

Cavan were beaten for silverware by Tyrone in the final of the National League Division 5 Blitz hosted in Lacken GAA Club on Saturday May 2nd. 

The National League Division 5 competition is a one-day blitz run for emerging counties introduced by the Camogie Association in 2006.  Cavan, Tyrone, Mayo, Wicklow and Monaghan took part.  Each team played each other once with the top two teams emerging to meet in the final. 

Cavan beat Mayo and Monaghan en route to the final, drew with Wicklow but were also beaten by Tyrone earlier in the day in the second round of the competition. 

The final was a competitive and skilful game played at terrific pace.  Tyrone had wind advantage in the first half but had to work hard against a well organised Cavan defence in which Niamh Brady and Deirdre Dolan played extremely well.  Cavan launched several attacks but were repeatedly repelled by Paula Neill who made a series of superb saves from point blank range, a fantastic performance for a player that has played most of her career at midfield.   However, Cavan did score an early goal which gave them the lead going in at half-time, a lead the Brefni County held onto until the dying minutes of the game. 

In the second half Tyrone piled on the pressure but Cavan held firm for a long spell.  However, the superior fitness of the Tyrone side won out.  Leona Gallagher got the measure of the Cavan full back line and scored what proved to be a decisive goal.  Tyrone had stars in Paula Neill and captain Julie Lagan who was most effective at centre back.  Shauna and Maria Jordan were others who impressed. They were a well drilled side coached by SinÚad O’Neill from the successful Antrim Club O’Donovan Rossa.  Cavan had fine players in Niamh Brady, Margaret McCabe, Marie Brady and Maria Dolan.  They were coached by Roscommon man Rory Donnellan. 

President of the Camogie Association, Liz Howard, was on hand to present the cup to Tyrone Captain Julie Lagan.  She thanked Lacken GAA Club for providing fantastic facilities for the day and also praised the Cavan Camogie Board for their excellent work in hosting the event.  

The tournament was extremely competitive and very positive for all counties that took part. 

Cavan 1-03 Tyrone 2-04
Referee: Pamela Frizell. 


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners