Official Website of the Camogie Association


Cashel 0-11

Athenry 0-9

Cashel had to pull on all their experience to stave off a dogged challenge from Athenry to claim their second All Ireland senior club championship title in horrendous weather at Clarecastle yesterday. Although the foot conditions were top class at the impressive Clare venue, the driving wind and rain proved to be a constant challenge for the top two teams.

It was Cashel’s ability to keep the scoreboard ticking over during a first half when Athenry captain Therese Maher had opted to play with the gale that was the main difference. Claire Grogan’s seven points overall (four from play) were contributory too, but when it came down to it, the Tipperary side had too much talent for the westerns who were far too reliant on skipper Maher to keep them in the hunt.

As well, Cashel captain and full back Una O’Dwyer proved unbeatable, as did their entire half back trio of Paula Bulfin, Philly Fogarty and Julie McGrath. And when they turned over just one point in arrears, 0-5 to 0-6, it was going to take an enormous effort from the Maroon girls to remain in the game, but credit to them, they fought to the bitter end.

Athenry led 0-3 to 0-2 after 15 minutes, and had they capitalised on two goal opportunities it would have been a different story for the underdogs. A pair of points coming up to the break from free-taker Laura Linnane and Noreen Coen left them double scores ahead, but a strong finish from Cashel yielded flags from Grogan and Alison Lonergan.

The second half was a dogfight with the weather deteriorating. Approaching the last quarter Cashel had edged 0-9 to 0-7 in front, but the introduction of the injured Jessica Gill for Athenry egged them on. She came close with a goal shot, and despite their grit, Cashel held out with two Grogan points closing out the score.

Scorers Cashel: C Grogan 0-7 (0-3 frees), M Morrissey 0-2, A Lonergan and E Hayden 0-1 each.

Scorers for Athenry: L Linnane 0-4 (0-2 frees, 0-1 45m), T Maher, N Coen, K O’Dwyer, B Kerins and J Gill (free) 0-1 each.

St Anne’s 1-11

Lavey 1-11 (AET)

St Anne’s Dunhill and Lavey will have to do it all over again to determine the destination of the All Ireland junior club title. After extra-time in a pulsating final in Donaghmore Ashbourne the scoreboard was still deadlocked 1-11 apiece. An announcement will be made tomorrow (Monday) regarding the replay.

St Anne’s did all the running with the wind in the first half and courtesy of a kicked goal from Jenny Simpson led 1-6 to 0-2 at the changeover. It was Lavey’s turn in the second 30 minutes with Mary O’Kane netting for the Derry champions. It was nip and tuck with St Anne’s Karen Kelly shooting the equaliser on full time.

After the first period of extra time, wind assisted St Anne’s moved 1-11 to 1-8 ahead, but three points from Lavey coming down the home straight ensured the teams will have to meet again.

Scorers for St Anne’s: K Kelly 0-6 (0-3 frees), J Simpson 1-2, N Rockett 0-3.

Scorers for Lavey: M O’Kane 1-3, A McPeake 0-5 (0-3 frees), D McShane, C Cushnahan and P McCloy 0-1 each.





Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners