Official Website of the Camogie Association

All-Ireland Intermediate champions Kilkenny and All-Ireland Premier Junior champions Carlow lead the nominations in their respective grades for this year’s Intermediate and Junior Soaring Stars Awards, sponsored by Liberty Insurance. 
This year sees a change to the format for both grades with awards being presented to the 6 most outstanding players from each of the Intermediate and Premier Junior Championships, drawn from 18 nominees in each grade for the first time. The 6 recipients in each grade will be announced at the Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 5th.
All-Ireland Intermediate champions Kilkenny lead this year’s Intermediate Soaring Stars nominations with six nominees. Amongst their nominees are defenders Edel Frisby, Jennifer Norris and Róisín Phelan, and forwards Jenny Clifford, Ciara Holden and Keeva Fennelly who was Player of the Match in the All-Ireland Final.
All-Ireland Finalists Cork received five nominations including defender Sarah Buckley, midfielders Jennifer Barry and Chloe Sigerson, and forwards Linda Collins and Rachel O’Shea.
Laois and Meath both received two nominations. Niamh Dollard who won a Soaring Star in 2014 and Aisling Burke are nominated for the O’Moore County, whilst three time Soaring Star winner Jane Dolan and Megan Thynne are nominated for the Royal County.
Antrim, Kildare and Tipperary complete the Intermediate Soaring Stars line-up with one nomination each. Racquel McCarry is nominated for Antrim, 2013 Soaring Star recipient Clodagh Flanagan is nominated for the Lilywhites and Aoife McLoughney is nominated for Tipperary.
In the Junior Soaring Stars category, All-Ireland Premier Junior champions Carlow lead this year’s nominations with six nominees. Amongst their nominees are defender and 2015 Junior Players’ Player of the Year Kate Nolan, and forwards Emma Brennan, Marian Doyle, Rachel Sawyer, Eleanor Treacy and Ciara Quirke.
All-Ireland Finalists Armagh received five nominations including defender Eimear Hayes, midfielder and 2010 Soaring Star recipient Bernie Murray, and forwards Ciara Donnelly, Rachael Merry and 2011 Soaring Star winner Collette McSorley.
Roscommon and Westmeath both received two nominations. 2014 Soaring Star recipients Kelley Hopkins and Annette McGeeney are nominated for the Rossies, with 2011 Soaring Star winner Pamela Greville and Dinah Loughlin nominated for Westmeath.
Dublin, Kerry and Limerick complete the Soaring Stars line-up with one nomination each with Faye McCarthy nominated for the Dubs, Patrice Diggins nominated for the Kingdom and Dearbhla Egan nominated for the Treaty County.
President of the Camogie Association Catherine Neary congratulated the nominees stating that “The Camogie Soaring Stars celebrates our Intermediate and Premier Junior Intercounty Players and acknowledges their outstanding achievement both on and off the field through their commitment, skill and sportsmanship. I congratulate each of the nominees who are drawn from 14 counties and I wish to acknowledge at a national level their contribution to our game. I also wish to acknowledge the contribution of our commercial partners Liberty Insurance for their continued sponsorship of the Camogie Soaring Stars.”
Deirdre Ashe, Director of Personal Lines for Liberty Insurance said that “The Camogie Soaring Stars recognise the outstanding achievement of players and management from the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Camogie Championships earlier this summer; congratulations to everyone who has been nominated. We’re delighted to sponsor the awards again this year and are looking forward to what is always a memorable and very special evening of celebration on November 5th.
The 2016 Camogie All-Stars team will also be announced on the night, as will the Manager of the Year Award. Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players' Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced next week.
2016 Intermediate Soaring Stars sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:
Racquel McCarry (Antrim)
Jennifer Barry (Cork)
Sarah Buckley (Cork)
Linda Collins (Cork)
Rachel O’Shea (Cork)
Chloe Sigerson (Cork)
Clodagh Flanagan (Kildare)
Jenny Clifford (Kilkenny)
Keeva Fennelly (Kilkenny)
Edel Frisby (Kilkenny)
Ciara Holden (Kilkenny)
Jennifer Norris (Kilkenny)
Róisín Phelan (Kilkenny)
Aisling Burke (Laois)
Niamh Dollard (Laois)
Jane Dolan (Meath)
Megan Thynne (Meath)
Aoife McLoughney (Tipperary)
2016 Junior Soaring Stars sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:
Ciara Donnelly (Armagh)
Eimear Hayes (Armagh)
Rachael Merry (Armagh)
Collette McSorley (Armagh)
Bernie Murray (Armagh)
Emma Brennan (Carlow)
Marian Doyle (Carlow)
Kate Nolan (Carlow)
Rachel Sawyer (Carlow)
Eleanor Treacy (Carlow)
Ciara Quirke (Carlow)
Faye McCarthy (Dublin)
Patrice Diggins (Kerry)
Dearbhla Egan (Limerick)
Kelley Hopkins (Roscommon)
Annette McGeeney (Roscommon)
Pamela Greville (Westmeath)
Dinah Loughlin (Westmeath) 
If you wish to purchase tickets for the Awards, then please complete and return a Ticket Order Form to or contact the Camogie Association on 01 8658651. Tickets are priced at €75 per person.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners