Official Website of the Camogie Association

National League Div 2
Clare 6-09 v 3-05 Waterford

In doing so they claimed their place in the League Final and a chance to renew rivalries with Derry. Continuing with the recent vein of good form enjoyed by the team Clare scored 6-05 from play and out classed the homeside all over the field.
Laura Linnane opened the scoring with a point inside the opening 30 seconds. Aiveen O’S.hea and Claire Commane were next up with goal on the 3rd and 5th minute respectively. Sharon O’Loughlin followed up with a point a minute later and Deirdre Murphy converted a free on 11 minutes. Clare were completely on top with Waterford struggling to come to terms with the Clare mid-field and attack. Kate Lynch was

d by Chloe Morey through injury in the 15th minute. This gave the young Sixmilebridge starlet her first taste of national League fare. A taste which she quiet enjoyed and will long for more of. Claire Commane was accurate with frees in the 15th and 19th minutes and Waterford were yet to score, indeed they were finding it difficult to get past half way.
They overcame this though and Trish Jackman had them on the score board with a goal on the 21st minute. This gave the Deise some hope and they lifted their game a peg. Aine Lyng added two points before Fiona Lafferty halted the comeback with a brace of fine points before the half time break.
Lyng had Waterford of to a good start with a free. Commane cancelled this out with one for Clare a minute later. Sharon McMahon who is returning from injury

d Aoife Ryan after 36 minutes. Fiona Lafferty took a Clare line ball and sent a long delivery to the corner where Sharon O’Loughlin was waiting. O’Loughlin collected and sent the ball across the goal where O’Shea was waiting to slot home. Lyng then had a point for Waterford, but a long ball from Lafferty saw Laura Linnane put pressure on Fiona Kiely in the Waterford goal to score Clare’s 4th and the 1st of three for Linnane. Cathy Hally

d Amy Colleran. Lyng, who was by far Waterford’s best player goaled on 12 minutes. This game was very fast though and a long bal to the Clare forwards saw O’Loughlin dispose the corner back and send the ball across the goal to set up Laura Linnane who tapped in her second. Jenny Simpson had a goal back for Waterford on 47 minutes but Linnane struck for her third, after a cutting run, a minute later.
Waterford continued to try to get back into contention but the Clare girls never let their guard up. Siobhan Lafferty was solid again at full back. Orla Slattery continued to deliver long relieving clearances. Dee Corcoran was very effective at center back. Denise Lynch pulled of a great save and two minutes later had a double save from Lyng. Aine O’Brien

d Sharon O’Loughlin and Stephanie Moloney

d Aiveen O’Shea. Moloney wasn’t long on the field when she struck for a goal but had it ruled out for a doubtful square ball. Aine Breathnach pointed for Waterford but Laura Linnane had the games last score from a æ45 on the stroke of full time.

Teams and scorers:
Denise Lynch, Jane O’Leary, Siobhan Lafferty, Amy Colleran, Kate Lynch, Dee Corcoran, Orla Slattery, Deirdre Murphy(C)(0-01, fr), Aoife Ryan, Carina Roseingrave, Fiona Lafferty(0-02), Laura Linnane(3-02, 1 æ45), Claire Commane(1-03, 3 fr), Aiveen O’Shea(2-00), Sharon O’Loughlin(0-01).

Subs: Chloe Morey for Lynch(inj) 16 minutes, Sharon McMahon for Ryan 36 minutes, Cathy Hally for Amy Colleran 43 minutes, Aine O’Brien for Sharon O’Loughlin 52 minutes, Stephanie Moloney for Aiveen O’Shea 54 minutes

 Fiona Kiely, Aisling Kelly, Sally O’Grady, Vicky Gaffney, Jenny O’Grady, Aileen Cummins, Annette Raher, Charlotte Raher, Aine Lyng(1-04, 1fr), Nicola Morrissey, Jenny Simpson(1-00), Mairead Murphy, Aine Breathnach(0-01), Trish Jackman(1-00), Kate Marie Aherne.

Niamh Ryan for Gaffney 35minutes, Tanya Morrisey for Ryan 48 minutes, Ailish Dunphy for Kelly 51 minutes, Rosisin Heylin for Simpson 54 minutes, Emma Hannon for Hearne 54 minutes

Referee: Cathal Egan, Cork.

Player of the game: Laura Linnane

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners