Official Website of the Camogie Association


A good showing from a Cork Intermediate side that was well worthy of their five point victory over a strong Waterford side in Lismore yesterday.

Their ability to pick off points was crucial to the Cork cause and striking an impressive nine in the opening thirty minutes they laid the foundations for victory. Captain Linda Dorgan was inspirational at mid field while Lucy Hawkes at centre back was very much to the fore as Cork held their lines under strong Waterford pressure Cork set the pace with early points from Denise Luby Michelle Browne Marion Jaego and Eimear O Sullivan, while in defence goalkeeper Denise Leahy denied Waterford with some fines saves. Waterford found the going tough against a strong Cork defence but they kept in touch with points from Nicole Morrissey Jenny Simpson Charlotte Raher and Kate Marie Hearn but it was Cork who led at the interval 0-9 to 0-5.

From the start of the second half Cork maintained the pace of the opening half a Denise Luby goal inside ten minutes of the restart  came at a vital time as Cork settled into their second half rhythm. Points from Eimear O Sullivan Linda Dorgan Michelle Browne and Evelyn Roynane added to the Cork tally as Nicola Morrissey pointed twice as Waterford battled to get into the game. Waterford substitute Aine Lyng added a goal five minutes from full time before adding a late point but by now the Cork girls had booked the county their place in another provincial decider.

With the under 16 A and B and junior provincial  titles already resting Leeside the Intermediate side now join the minor and senior teams in the hunt for further provincial titles.                    


Scorers for Cork; M Browne 0-4(0-3f 0-1p) D Luby 1-1, E O Sullivan 0-3,

M Jaego and L Dorgan 0-2each, E Roynane 0-1

Scorers for Waterford: – Lyng 1-1, N Morrissey 0-3, J Simpson, 0-2, K. M. Herne, and C Raher 0-1 each


Cork: D Leahy; L Cunningham, N Mulcahy, T Murphy; L Weste, L Hawkes, C Motherway; L Dorgan( c ), A Thompson; M Browne, L Bugler, E O Sullivan; C Collins D Luby M Jaego.

Sub E Roynane for C Collins


Waterford: T Jackman; N Ryan, L Prendergast, V Gaffney; A Raher, A Cummins, A Kelly; S O’Grady, C Raher; J Simpson, N Morrissey , T Morrissey; K Marie Herne,  R Heylin, A O’Brien;

 Subs: – Lyng for R Heelan (45) P Cunningham, for T Morrissey (45)

A. O Brien for N Ryan (50)


Referee: John Morrissey (Tipperary) 

Report Submitted by Mary Newman

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners