Official Website of the Camogie Association


Minor A Championship Final

Douglas 1-10 Ballincollig 0-8


Minor C Championship Final

Douglas “”2″” 2-6 Enniskeane 1-8


Junior Shield Final

Ballygarvan 2-5 Inniscarra 0-3


Minor B Championship semi Final

Eire Og 2-6 Mallow 1-1


Junior B Plate Final

Castlelyons 3-4 Glen Rovers 2-5 




Douglas take junior A league title


Douglas 2-11 Blackrock 0-8


Goals win games and in appalling weather condition Douglas grabbed one in either half to decide the destination of the junior A league title in Castle Road on Saturday last.

The pitch conditions were excellent but the continuous down pour and driving wind made it difficult for both teams to contend with Douglas Tracy mc Carthy points an early free to which Doireann ni Mhuiri replied but it was Blackrock who made all the early running and putting the Douglas defence under enormous pressure they hit two further points from Doireann Ni Mhuiri and Katelynn Hickey without reply as they opening up a two point lead.  

 Tracy Mc Carthy kept Douglas in touch as she pointed a free but Blackrock kept the pressure on Roisin De Faoite and Doireann ni Mhuiri hitting points as they went three points clear 0-5 to 0-2. 

 Five minutes to the break Jill Kelleher hit a superb Douglas point but still Blackrock held the upper hand around the middle of the field but they failed to build on it and Douglas were handed a life line three minutes into injury time as the Blackrock defence failed to clear their lines with Semma Long edging the ball over the line in a goal mouth scramble to give Douglas a 1-3 to 0-5 interval lead.

The goal was a major boost to the Douglas girls and they grabbed their chance Tracy Mc Carthy pointes  two frees inside eight minutes of the second half and as the rain cascaded down the sides continued to give it their all.

 Doireann Ni Mhuire had one back for Blackrock but now they were battling against a much focused Douglas defence who closed them down at every opportunity.

Tracy Mc Carthy and Clara Kavanagh hit two Douglas points to stretch their advantage to fie point but with Doireann ni Mhuiri now operating in their half forward line Blackrock were clawing their way back two point form NI Mhuire had the lead down to a goal but Douglas put the game out of Blackrock’s reach when substitute Jenny O Donovan hit their second gal with seven minutes remaining. Blackrock battled to try and get something back but it was Douglas who finished stronger with two Jenny O Donovan points and one from Semma Long to put the title out of reach of a battling Blackrock sides.

Scorers for Douglas: J O Donovan 1-3, T MC Carthy 0-5 (f’s), S Long 1-1, C Kavanagh, J Kavanagh 0-1each.       

Blackrock:  D Ni Mhuiri 0-6 (0-5f), R De Faoite, K Hickey 0-1each.

Douglas :  Siobhan O’ Mahoney, S O’ Regan, N Leo, Sinead O Mahoney,  C Murphy, C O Driscoll, M O Mahoney,  J Kelleher, C Murphy, S O Brien(c), T  Mc Carthy,  S Long,  O Curtin,  C Kavanagh,  M Cullinane.

Subs: O’ Donovan for O Curtin (40), L Mc Carthy for Sinead O’ Mahony (55).

Blackrock: F Norberg; T Cummins, C Meaney, S Naughton ; M Hurley, R De Faoite, J Irwin; K O’ Brien, D O’ Leary; A Brohan, K Fleming, K Hickey; D Ni Mhuire V Norberg, G Mulqueen

Subs S Carroll for A Brohan (h/t), M Monaghan for V Norberg (41).

Ref: Mike O Kelly (Ballyhea). 


Minor D title for Sarsfields

Sarsfields 4-9 Barryroe 2-2


 Aided by the strong wind in the opening half Sars made a great start to this  Evwening Echo Minor D county championship final in Castle Road with two Louise Murphy goals inside the opening five minutes and with Rita Crowley and Nicole Hickey adding points they set the pace of the game.  Barryroe were on the score board nineteen minutes into the game with a goal from Triona Mc Carthy but substitute Orlaith Keane replied ten minutes later with a Sars goal to keep her side in control. Before the break Yvonne O’Callaghan and Rita Crowley added points to the Sars tally as they led 3-4 to 1-0 a the break.

 Barryroe got the second half off to a perfect start to the second half  Lisa Dullea  striking for a  goal and playing with the aid of the wind they applied a lot of pressure on a Sars defence that held firm. Aisling Whooley and Rita Crowley added points to the Sarsfields tally  before Sandra Dooley finished the ball over the line to extrend their lead. Barryroe added two points but they still found it hard to break down the Sars defence where Edel Meaney and Sinead Gaffey stood firm, up front Rita Crowley added a point before the full time whistle as Sars ran out winners to take the inaugural Minor D championship title.

Scorers for Sarsfields: L Murphy 2-0, R Crowley 0-6; S Dooley O Keane 1-0each, Y O’Callaghan, A Whooley, N Hickey 0-1each.

Barryroe: T Mc Carthy, L Dullea 1-0each C O’Dwyer 0-1.

Sarsfields : S Gaffey, S Keena, E Meaney, O Quinn; K Comerford, I Kearney, A  O’Callaghan; A Whooley, N Hickey; E O’Connell, Y O’Callaghan, R Crowley; M O’Farrell, S Dooley (c), L Murphy.

Subs: O Keane for A Whooley (inj), A Whooley for M O’Farrell (inj), T Kerrigan for L Murphy, S Gaffey for S Keena, O O’Sullivan for S Dooley (inj).

Barryroe: J Madden; M O’Regan O’Donovan, E Deasy: D Sexton, L Dullea Madden; K O’Sullivan, J White (C); A Weldon, R Mc Carthy, T Mc Carthy; P O’Donovan, C O’Dwyer, D O’ Sullivan.

Subs:  F O’Regan for Kay O’Sullivan, A O’Donovan for Deirdre Sexton, C Lordan for P O’Donovan, O O’Rgan for A Weldon, C Tyndall for T Mc Carthy.


Kildorrey Double

Kildorrey 6-7 Castlelyons 3-6 (aet)

It took extra time to decide the destination of the Junior C league crown as Kildorrey added the title to the championship won earlier in the season. A determined Castleyons side that made them go to extra time before the title was secured but it was in extra time that Kildorrey finally put their stamp on the game as they finally began to put daylight between themselves and their opponents.

The sides were evenly match all through Emily sexton hit two Castlelyons point before Valerie Mc Cormick grabbed a Kildorrey goal.  Castlelyons set the pace with Emily Sexton adding two goal and two points and Trisha Carroll a point as they led at the break 2-4 to 1-1 Orla Murphy pointing for Kildorrey as they battled to keep in touch.

Kildorrey’s Orla Murphy pointed on the restart and a goal from Trish Collins had just two points between the sides, Castleyons responded as Catherine Mc Auliffe hit a goal and it was ten minutes later before Brigid Allen got one back for Kildorrey, the sides swapped points with Emily Sextons ensuring the game went to extra time.  

 Extra time saw Emily Sexton edge Castlelyons ahead but goals from Trish Collins and Mairead O’ Brien had Kildorrey five point clear at the break, on the turn over Kildorrey began to pull away Brigid Allen hit a goal before Orla Murphy and Val Mc Cormick had points to ensure Kildorrey of the double but not before a stern test from a determined Castlelyons side.     

Scorers for Kildorrey: T Collins, B Allen 2-0 each, V McCormack 1-2, M O’Brien 1-0, O Murphy 0-4, N Walsh 0-1.

Castlelyons: E Sexton 2-5, C Mc Auliffe 1-0 T Carroll 0-1.

Kildorrey : J Dawson; H Hennessy, N Hennessy, D Murphy; B Allen, C Lynch, N Walsh; C Hanley, E McCarthy; L Hanley, V McCormack, M  O’Brien; A Hennessy, O Murphy, T Collins.

Subs: A M Mc Carthy for O Murphy, O Murphy for A Hennessy, C Smith for O Murphy.

Castlelyons: Michelle Barry; Mairead Barry, M Howard, S O’Connell; A O’Brien, N Barry, M O’ Sullivan; C Carroll, M Mc Ateer;  A O’ Sullivan., M T Murphy, K Murphy; C McAuliffe, T Carroll, E Sexton.

Subs: I Fenton for C McAuliffe, L Spillane for S O’Connell.




Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners