Official Website of the Camogie Association

Barrs just get over Ballygarvan

St. Finbarrs  0-14 Ballygarvan  0-11

After tough hours St Finbarrs came away with a two point victory over Ballygarvan Gemma O’Connor had two early points to edge Barrs ahead.
 By the mid way stage it was level pegging 0-4 a piece but from her to the half time whistle  Barrs added  five points  as Vivienne Harris converted forty five metre frees and they had one from play to Ballygarvan’s  one  to leave the Barrs  0-9 to 0-5, a  ahead at the break.
Ballygarvan upped the pace from the throw in and had the gap down to two points, Niamh Cooke stretched it to two with a Barrs point and with Gemma O’Connor covering acres of ground they held their lead as the Ballygarvan attack put them under huge pressure. A point from Suzanne Lynch brought Ballygarvan within three points with seven minutes of normal time remaining and with the sides battling for possession every ball was fiercely contested. Vivienne Harris converted a free as Barrs got themselves breathing space and with twelve minutes of added time Emer Dillon and Catriona Kelly hit two points to cut the lead but Barrs again stretch it to three and hung on for victory
Ballygarvan now face Courcey rovers in a back door match to stay in the championship
Scorers:-St. Finbarrs:-V Harris 0-7(0-4f, 0-3’45), G O’Connor 0-4, N Cooke, C Spellman, N Goulding 0-1 each.
Ballygarvan:-C Kelly 0-5(0-3f), E Dillon 0-4(0-1f), C Murphy, S Lynch 0-1 each.
Teams:-St. Finbarrs:-E Clifford; C Myers, T Doyle, M McCarthy; R Myers, J Duffy, C Barrett; L O’Connell, B Maher; V Harris, N Goulding, G O’Connor; N Cooke, C Spellman, V Maher.
Ballygarvan:-A O’Neill; M Hallahan, A Moynihan, S A O’ Halloran; J Browne, S O’Donovan, N Hallahan; V Browne, A Murphy; C Murphy, E Dillon, D Daly; S Lynch, C Kelly, L Browne.


Carrigdhoun shade it

Carrigdhoun 1-13 Seandun 2-4

 Carrigdhoun dominated the early stages of this Evening Echo senior championshiop meeting against fellow divisional side Seandun. And aided by the strong wind led 0-8 to 0-1 the sixteenth minute. Seandun with limited possession up front looked to have the ability to grab scores but their only on in the early stages came from Charlotte Kearney. Seandun began to get to grips with their game and a superb point from  Denise Luby gave them confidence, two minutes later a high ball from Julie Crowley  was first timed to the net by Karen O’Connell  and suddenly only three separated the sides.  Seandun kept the pressure on and with three minutes of normal time remaining O’Connell again finished to the net to make it level. Jacqui O’Keeffe edged Carrigdhoun ahead with a point and in the three minutes of added time Joanne o Keeffe kicked over the line to put Carrigdhoun four points ahead at the break.
Carrigdhoun attacked from the restart and with Laura Thompson converting a free pushed the gap to five and with Eimear O’Sullivan striking two the gap began to widen. Seandun upped their game and began to exert pressure but found the going hard. Sixteen minutes in  Doireann NI Mhuiri found Denise Luby who pointed and when the same player pointed a free five minutes later the gap was again at five however Carrigdhoun weren’t going to let the game slip and a further point from Grainne O’Keeffe ensured Carrigdhoun’s passage through but not without a stern test.
Scorers:-Carrigdhoun:-L Thompson 0-5(0-4f), E O’Sullivan 0-3, Joanne O’Keeffe 1-0, G O’Keeffe 0-2, L Hawkes, C Deasy, Jacqui O’Keeffe 0-1 each.
Seandun:-K O’Connell 2-0, D Luby 0-3(0-1f), C Kearney 0-1.
Teams:-Carrigdhoun:-G Harrington(Valley Rovers); J Kiernan(Carrigaline), J Foster(Carrigaline), A M Murphy(Valley  Rovers); S Cotter(Carrigaline), L Hawkes(Valley Rovers), MA Hawkes(Valley Rovers); M Moran(Carrigaline), L Bugler(Valley Rovers); G O’Keeffe(Carrigaline), E O’Sullivan(Ballinhassig)Capt, Jacqui O’Keeffe(Carrigaline); C Deasy(Valley Rovers), Joanne O’Keeffe(Carrigaline), L Thompson(Carrigaline).
Sub:-D O’Leary (Carrigaline) for J Foster (Carrigaline).
Seandun:-M Gould ( St. Vincent’s); L Burns(Na Piarsaigh), L Cunningham(Glen Rovers),C Meaney(Blackrock); J Crowley(Bishopstown), D Ni Mhuiri(Blackrock), A Ni Mhuiri(Blackrock); K Twomey(Passage), P Kearney(Na Piarsaigh); C Kearney(Na Piarsaigh), J Browne(Bishopstown), M Crowley(Bishopstown); K O’Connell(Glen Rovers), D Luby(Glen Rovers), R De Faoite(Blackrock).
Subs:-E Keane(Brian Dillon’s) for A Ni Mhuiri(16m), C Shortt(Glen Rovers) for K Twomey(46m), L O’Sullivan(Passage) for P Kearney (inj 58m), K Fleming(Blackrock) for J Browne(inj 62m).
Ref:-J O’Leary-Mallow

Statement on Intent from Milford

Milford 3-25 Courcey Rovers 1-8

A strong statement of intent from a very focused and strong Milford side as they booked their place in round three of the Evening Echo senior championship with a victory over Courcey Rover’s
 Milford led 0-7 to 0-1 inside ten minutes of the start and the gap putting the Courcey defence under pressure they won frees which Emer Watson converted. The led 1-18 to 0-4 at the half time whistle but all credit to Courcey’s who gave it their all in the second half and showed greater urgency but Milford continued to dominate Elaine O’ Riordan set up Emer Watson for a goal after just nine minutes but Courcey’s hit back as Rachel Moloney converted a penalty after Noelle Collins was fouled on her way to goal.  However it mattered little as Milford kept piling on the pressure and the score to run out convincing winners.
Courcey’s now face a back door meeting with Ballygarvan to keep their championship hopes alive. 
Scorers:-Milford:-E Watson 2-16(0-6f), M Watson 1-4, E O’ Riordan 0-2, A Thompson, C Galvin and N O’ Riordan 0-1 each.
Courcey Rovers:-R Moloney 1-4(1-0p, 0-4f), S Hayes 0-2(0-1f), N Collins and A Twomey 0-1 each.
Teams:-Milford:-E Hanley; M Geary, R Curtin, L Healy; A Watson, R Finn, S Sexton; A Thompson, D O’Reilly©; C Galvin, E O’ Riordan, M Watson; S O’ Flynn, E Watson, N O’ Riordan.
Subs:-J Sheehy, L O’ Flynn, E Browne for A Thompson, S O’ Flynn and N O’ Riordan (52), C Mullane for C Galvin(54), J Hickey for M Watson(56).
Courcey Rovers:-A. O’Brien; C Hayes, N O’Reilly, O Twomey; C O’Neill, R Moloney, E Ryan; S Hayes©, M O’ Regan; N Collins, K Keohane, A O’ Regan; A Twomey, G Twomey, S Quinn.
Sub:-E O’ Regan for G. Twomey (45)
Ref:-P Downey-Inniscarra.

-Mary Newman McCarthy, COrk PRO

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners