Official Website of the Camogie Association


Cork 1-14 Tipperary 2-6 

Cork reclaimed the Munster Senior Camogie title after a battle with Tipperary with Cork's Orla Cotter scoring 0-8 of her side's total and receiving the Player of the Match award for her display reports Munster Camogie PRO Fiona Casey. 
Cork started well and opened the scoring after 15 seconds with a point from Cotter. Dual star Briege Corkery was her usual busy self and contributed a point soon after. Tipperary relied on All Star Jill Horan at midfield to pull the strings, but Milford's Aisling Thompson dominated  and snuffed out any threat by Tipperary. 
A point from Katrina Mackey was soon followed up by a goal from her as she gave Rita Burke no chance. Tipperary through Clare Kennedy opened their account in the 20th minute with Nicole Walsh and Brid Quinn also pointing.  The Rebels however brought their A game, and Aoife Murray pulled off the save of the day from a Jill Horan rasper just before the break.  Points from Jenny O'Leary and Orla Cotter saw the first half finish Cork 1-7 Tipperary 0-3.  
Tipperary clearly got some inspiration from the dressing room at half time, and came out fighting.  Goals from Brid Quinn and Nicole Walsh certainly got the Tipp fans going and when Jill Horan sent over a cracker from play, it was game on.  However Cork responded with two Orla Cotter points from play to keep them in front followed by two further 45's.  
Again Jill Horan was tormenting the Cork backline, and when Nicole Walsh pointed in the 56th minute, only three points separated the sides. Time ran out for the Premier County, and Cork regained the Munster title after a stern test.  Anna Geary accepted the cup on behalf of the team from Munster Council Chairman Eamon Browne. 
Cork: A.Murray, P.Mackey, R.Buckley, J.O'Callaghan, D.Cronin, A.Geary, C.Sugrue, O.Cotter (0-8, 0-3 '45), A.Thompson, J.O'Leary (0-3, 0-1 f), B.Corkery (0-1), E.O'Sullivan (0-1), K.Mackey (1-1), S.Burns, D.O'Callaghan. 
Subs: J.Kavanagh, E.White, A.Walsh, L.Weste, L.O'Connell, M.Walsh, J.White.
Tipperary: R.Burke, T.Ryan, J.Kirwan, L.McLoughlin, J.McGrath, G.Grace, S. Larkin, M.Teehan, J.Horan (0-2),  N.Walsh (1-2, 0-1f), B.Quinn (1-1), N.Flanagan, A.Fogarty, C.Kennedy (0-1), T.Kennedy. 
Subs: C.Holohan, A.Kennedy, C.Kennedy, N.Harrington, S.O'Neill, J.Burke, C.Johnston, S.McGrath, A.McLoughney, A.McGrath, C.Kennedy, A.Kennedy, A.Ryan, M.Graham, C.Devane. 

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners