Official Website of the Camogie Association



By Mary Newman

Cork 3-12 Waterford 3-5

Cork’s Eimear O Sullivan opened the scoring with a point as Aine Lyng replied for Waterford.  Michelle Browne edged Cork ahead with a free and when Marie Watson stretched the Cork lead hand passing to the net the lead was extended. Jenny Simpson responded with a Waterford goal inside five minutes but Michelle Browne pointed three Cork frees to keep their noses ahead. Waterford kept pace with points from Lisa Prendergast and Aine Lyng as Cork turned over leading 1-5 to 1-3.

Charlotte Kearney struck for an early second half goal after Marie Watson and Kearney had pointed to stretch the lead. Waterford worked hard to get back into the game with a Charlotte Raher point before substitute Katie Marie Ahern struck for a goal on the three quarter stage. Cork held their composure and replied with three points from Michelle Browne and Eimear O’ Sullivan restored the lead to six points. Aine Lyng and Brown again traded points before Marion Jaego’s goal five minutes from full time looked to be enough for Cork but Waterford hit back Kate Marie Ahern striking for her second goal with five minutes remaining, however Cork had done enough to secure the point before Michelle Browne converted a late point to give Cork the points on offer.


Scorers for Cork: M Browne 0-7 f, M Watson C Kearney 1-1 each, M Jaego 1-0, E O Sullivan 0-2 (0-1 45 0-1p)

Waterford: K M Ahern 2-0, A. Lyng 0-3, J Simpson 1-0, L Prendergast, C Raher 0-1 each                       

CORK: E White, A M Fleming, N Mulcahy, E Dunne, L Hawkes, L O Connell, J Browne, M Corkery, E O Sullivan, L Weste, R Myers, M Jaego, M Browne, M Watson, D Twomey, C Kearney

Subs K O Brien for M Jaego (56) C Deasy for J Browne (57)

WATERFORD: F Kiely, A Kelly, V Gaffney, A Cummins, N Ryan, S O Grady, J O Grady, J Simpson, C Raher, A. Lyng, T Morrissey, N. Morrissey, P Jackman, A Breathneach, M Murphy

Subs A O Brien for F Kiely (h/t), K M Ahern for T Morrissey (h/t), E Hannon for J Simpson (50) A. Dunphy for N Ryan (55) R Heylin for A. Murphy (55)


Referee A O’ Brien Wexford

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners