Official Website of the Camogie Association


Dublin Camogie Board


A disappointing week-end on the county front with the senior, junior and U16 teams going down to Tipperary, Laois and Galway respectively.

But well done to all concerned for their efforts – the rewards will come.


Sincere appreciation to Ballyboden St Endas and Craobh Chiarßin for making their facilities available for intercounty matches at the week-end.


Comhghairdeas do Mßire UÝ ScolaÝ (left), National Results Coordinator of Camogie on receiving the Inaugural President’s award from Liz Howard, Uachtarßn Chumann Cam¾gaÝochta na nGael, during the Cumann Cam¾gaÝochta na nGael Media Awards 2009. Mßire is a member of the Cuala Club and a former Dublin PRO.


Contact details for inclusion in the Fixtures Book must be sent to Maria Grandfield this week.


Annual Congress will take place on 27/28 March in Nenagh.


Adult leagues will commence on Tuesday 7 April.



Dublin went down to Tipperary in this National League game played in good conditions on an excellent pitch at Lattin Cullen on a 2-13 to 1-6 scoreline.

This well contested game started with the ball going from end to end without a score for the first five or six minutes. It was Tipperary who got the vital break with a scrambled goal by Emily Hayden. Two minutes later Dublin opened their account with a pointed free from Ciara Lucey. Jill Horan replied with a Tipperary point. Dublin responded with a glorious point on 15 minutes from Alison Maguire who had an excellent game throughout to leave the scores level on two points each mid way through the half.

For the remainder of the half Tipperary were in the ascendency. Claire Grogan scored three unanswered points. A delightful pass from full forward Hayden on the stroke of half time to Joanne Ryan had the ball in the back of the Dublin net to extend Tipperary’s lead going into the interval. Half time score Tipperary 2-6 Dublin 0-2.

On the resumption Dublin played with renewed spirit and enthusiasm.

Early points from Louise O’Hara and Alison Maguire were answered by three Tipperary points from Grogan and Ryan. A clever pass on 20 minutes from Sarah Ryan to subsititute Anne Griffin enabled her to send the sliotar over the bar. Ryan was playing well and on 23 minutes she caught the sliotar, made her way towards goals and despite fierce pressure she managed to hand pass the sliotar to the Tipperary net.

From the right wing Niamh Taylor added a point a minute later to leave the score Tipperary 2-9 Dublin 1-6. Dublin had outscored Tipperary 1-4 to 0-3 at this stage of the half. Dublin hopes were revived but Tipperary again stamped their authority on the game with five unanswered points from Grogan, Cora Hennesy and Hayden to leave the final score Tipperary 2-13 Dublin 1-6.

Eimear Butler, despite some loose puckouts , had a good game in the Dublin goals. Dublin’s full back line of Rachel Ruddy, Jean Murphy and Caitriona Power played well. Dublin’s half back line were really good today with Louise O’Hara outstanding. Andrea Fitzpatrick was her industrious, hard- working self. Laura Twomey came of age today with a resilient performance having her best Senior game.

Elaine Ryan and Elaine O’Meara worked hard in the middle of the field. Alison Maguire at centre forward and in the middle of the field had a really good game. Sarah Ryan scored one great goal and was denied two more by the Tipperary’s goalkeeper Paula Ryan. Danielle Smith, Ciara Lucey, Niamh Taylor and Joelenne Hoary kept trying but were unable to impose themselves on the Tipp defence.

Anne Griffin came on in the second half, scored a fine point but gave away some unnecessary frees. These determined Dublin players were fighting for every ball right up to the final whistle. The injured Eimear Brannigan and unavailable Aisling Jordan would certainly have helped Dublin’s cause today.

We wish the players and the management team of Mary McKeon, Ken Keoghan and Doirin Golden all the best when they play Clare in the capital on Sunday, 29 March.

Scorers for Dublin: Sarah Ryan 1-0, Alison Maguire 0-2, Ciara Lucey, Louise O’Hara, Niamh Taylor and Anne Griffin 0-1 each.




Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners