Official Website of the Camogie Association




St. Colman’s made their own little bit of history on Sunday last, coveting the Division four Feile na nGael camogie title after a tight and tense encounter with St. Josephs, Madden of Armagh.




The South Galway club emerged unscathed from their pool following comprehensive victories over Burt (Donegal), Kilconieron and Drumree (Meath), advancing to Sundays decider courtesy of a 6-0 to 1-1 victory over Ahascragh.




Madden, who accounted for Kilconieron in the other semi-final, opened brightly with Emma McGuigan and Hannah Hughes finding the target to edge the northerners two in front.




Displaying fantastic heart and determination, St. Colman’s were rewarded for their battling endeavours when Cliodhna Harney struck their opening score and they gained parity in the 18th minute with Harney again the provider.




Though Madden enjoyed the lions share of possession in that opening half, it was Colman’s who held the interval advantage with Cliodhna Harney’s free, just before the break, going all the way to the net.




As expected, Madden went hammer and tongs at the change of ends and three unanswered points from the stick of McGuigan levelled affairs. The momentum was now with Madden and they pressed for the lead score, but came unstuck, spurning several opportunities.




Five minutes out and somewhat against the run of play, St. Colman’s found the net through corner forward Ciara Helebert in what proved to be the defining score. Emma McGuigan pointed late on for Madden, but it proved insufficient as Colman’s held on to spark scenes of wonderful celebration at the final whistle.




St. Colman’s weren’t the only Galway team involved on the final day of Feile na nGael 2011 as both Kinvara and Liam Mellows reached the Division five and three finals respectively.




Kinvara had a busy morning as their semi-final was put forward from Saturday evening and an hour after overcoming Moycullen they lined out against Clare’s Killanena in the Division five decider. Alas, it was not to be.




Killanena captain Roisin McNamara was a class apart shooting 2-4 as the Banner side ran out convincing winners.




There was disappointment too for Liam Mellows as Wicklow champions Knockananna claimed the Division three crown on a scoreline 5-8 to 1-2.




The game as a contest was all but over at half time as Knockananna enjoyed an unassailable 3-4 to 0-1 lead. Emma Elwood registered Mellows only score of the half with Anna Hedderman, Macayla Murphy and Rachel Byrne rattling the net for the Wicklow side.




Mellows fortunes improved little at the change of ends and though, Aoife Elwood goaled for the City side, Macayla Murphy and Ciara Byrne swelled the tally of the victors with second half majors.




Cahir of Tipperary, formed in 2001, were victorious in an entertaining Division 1 final by 4-10 to 1-7 while St Cillian’s of Offaly defeated Sixmilebridge of Clare, 4-4 to 3-4 in the Division Two final.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners