Official Website of the Camogie Association

By Siobhßn Walsh.

Division 2 FÚile Camogie Final.

The division 2 FÚile final title went to Derry side, Davitt’s in O’Moore Park on Sunday.
 Davitt’s got off to a great start. They got 5-2 on the board before half-time. Two of these goals came from Catherine McKeefry. The goal scorer also sent over 2 points in the first half. Shannon Kearney, Megan McCusker and MairÚad McNicholl all added a goal to the scoreboard.
Davitt’s showed great skill on the ball. Their first touch was excellent and their side were extremely skilful. Lismore were tireless in their efforts to get a score on the board. They had a lot of possession but the Davitt’s defence were solid and there wasn’t much getting by them.
Lismore had some great players. Aoife Hannon did great work to get the ball up to the forwards and to regain possession. Ciara Aarons was a great player, soloing out of defence tackling players and winning the ball back when it was lost.
Davitt’s split the posts 2 minutes into the second half, this point coming from Dervla O’Kane. Catherine McKeefry rattled the net for Davitt’s making it a hatrick.
Lismore’s deserved and well earned point in the second half came from a free sent over by Karen McCarthy. Aoife Quinn was playing well in the Davitt’s attack and her skills contributed to their dominance. Shannon Kearney sent in a low and hard ball from outside the 14 metre line to the left hand corner to secure the win for Davitt’s. Noeleen McKenna lifted the shield for the Swatragh side, to shorten their long journey home.

Michael Davitt’s, Swatragh, Derry: Rebecca McKeefry, R¾isÝn O’Kane, Maeve Quinn, Rachel Donnelly, Paula McElwee, Noeleen McKenna, Niamh O’Kane, Cara Dillon, Shannon Kearney (2-0), Aoife Quinn, Catherine McKeefry (3-2), MairÚad McNicholl (1-0), Sarah Grant, Dervla O’Kane (0-1), Eimear O’Kane, Niamh McFerran, Niamh O’Kane, Claire McGuigan, Bronagh McKeefry, Megan McCusker (1-0), Niamh Quigg, Aoife Coyle, Bronagh McKeown, Katie Bradley.

Lismore: Sarah Russell, Lydia Mangan, Harriett Bennett Lenane, Joanna Houlihan, Kate Devine, Shauna Prendergast, Shannon O’Brien, Aoife Hannon, Karen McCarthy, Kate Ryan, Ciara Aarons, SinÚad Walsh, Meghan Kiernan, Ruth Geoghegan (0-1), Beth Heneghan, Emma O’Donnell, Maeve Rotte, Laura Houlihan, Emma Houlihan, Danielle Ahearne, April Harrison Barbett, Martina Cullinane, Leonie Boras, Sally Anne O’Grady.

Referee: Martin Moore.


Division 3 FÚile Camogie Final (AET).

Ratoath 3-1
The Harps 1-1

Ratoath and Laois side, The Harps fought it out for division 3 honours in the Camogie FÚile on Sunday. The sides brought the game to extra-time when they finished all square after ordinary time. It was Ratoath who came out the winners. The Harps didn’t go home empty handed though. They won best dressed at the FÚile Parade on Friday evening and it was well deserved as they looked very colourful and smart in their new tracksuits.
 4 minutes into the game Ratoath got their scoring underway. Karen McCabe raised the green flag. The Harps, Maria Fitzpatrick sent over a point. This point was followed by a goal sent in by Shauna Monaghan.
Ratoath got another score on the board before the break. This came from one of their star players of the day, Adrienne McCann. The score at half-time was Ratoath 1-1 The Harps 1-1. The second half went without a score and The Harps were unlucky not to get a score on the board, after some missed chances.
The teams finished level when the referees whistle sounded for ordinary time. The extra-time was a tight affair and the large crowd began to get tense under the pressure.
Ratoath worked better in the extra-time and sent two goals to the net in a short space of time in the second half of extra-time. Ciara O’Byrne, with goal number 1 and Emma O’Meara were the players to get their name on the score sheet and to secure the victory for Ratoath.

Ratoath: Emma O’Meara (1-0), Niamh O’RÝordan, Emily Murphy, Shauna McDermott, Aoife McGoldrick, Adrienne McCann (0-1), Ciara O’Hare, Lauren McCann, Cathy Collins, Aisling O’Brien, Emma McGill, Ciara McCabe, Aoife Leonard, Karen McCabe (1-0), Nicole O’Carroll, Ciara O’Byrne (1-0), Anna Fagan, Clare Kavanagh, Elaine McBride, Katie Doyle, Sarah Morris, Tara Jackson, Lauren Daly, Eimear Griffiths.

The Harps: Orla Curry, Hazel Costigan, Niamh Delaney, Shannon Saunders, Bronagh Dunne, Ciara Delaney, Yvonne Mullins, Edel Costigan, Maria Fitzpatrick, Orla Brennan, Rosemary Phelan, Shauna Monaghan-Geoghegan, BrÝd Delahunty, Niamh Dunne, Leah Dunphy, Cßit Murphy, Michelle Delaney, Cristina Larkin, Niamh Loughman, Eimear Delaney, Rachel Delahunty, Lorna Campion, Fiona Walsh, Rachel Bergin.

Referee: M. Fitzpatrick.

Division 4 FÚile Camogie Final.

Local side Clonad took on the Kerry camogie team in the division 4 final in Portlaoise GAA Grounds on Sunday. Kerry who first fielded a camogie team in the county in 2006 reached the final last year but were defeated so they were back to win the title. Clonad are also a young camogie side and very hopeful of doing well in the future.
It was an extra special achievement for Clonad to make it to the final as a host team (to Castleblaney in county Monaghan). Kerry started off well getting two goals, the first from MairÚad Fitzgerald and another from Marie Quirke. Kerry added a point to their tally. The score at half-time was Kerry 2-1 Clonad 0-0.
Kerry’s Marie Quirke and Caroline McCarthy were a very solid part of their team in the middle of the field. They showed great skill, soloing up the field at pace through players. Sarah Murphy rattled the net for Kerry, hitting it in after a lot of pucking around in front of the goals by the Kingdom.
Clonad worked hard. They kept Kerry to 3-1. Aoidheann Delaney was very solid at centre-back. R¾isÝn Dunne was tireless in her efforts at midfield and Orla Rigney made some great blocks in the defence.
Kate McDonald captain of Clonad was very gracious in defeat and thanked Kerry for the game. MairÚad Quirke lifted the shield for Kerry.

Kerry: MairÚad Fitzgerald (1-0), Michelle Gilbert, Aoife Fitzgerald, Kathy Casey, Rachel McElligott, Megane Weir, Lorna Sheehan, Marie Quirke (1-1), Caroline McCarthy, Orla Young, Marliza O’Dwyer, Linda Twomey, Ann-Marie Leen, Saidhbe Horgan, Ashling Mangan, Niamh Duffy, Isabel O’Connor, -ine O’Connor, Niamh Whyte, Marian Leahy, Sarah Murphy (1-0), Maura Godley, Jessica Fitzell, MairÚad Leen.

Clonad: Emma Donovan, Pauline Duune, Sophie Meredith, SinÚad Dunne, Orla Rigney, Aoidheann Delaney, Jane Kennedy, Lorna Deegan, R¾isÝn Dunne, Kate McDonald, -ine Fitzpatrick, Aoife Boyle, Anita O’Dea, Sarah Fitzpagtrick, Rachel Cross, Leanne Donovan, Veronica Donovan, R¾isÝn McWey, Tiffany Conroy, Laura McWey.

Referee: John McLeish.


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners