Official Website of the Camogie Association



Mayoral reception for university competitions



Galway City Council held a mayoral reception at City Hall this afternoon (Friday, February 18th) to mark the Ashbourne and Purcell Cup Competitions hosted by National University of Ireland, Galway (NUIG).



The third level camogie competitions will take place this weekend (February 19th and 20th) in NUI, Galway at the Dangan sportsgrounds with over 500 camogie players from colleges nationwide playing in this year’s Ashbourne and Purcell Cup and Shield fixtures.  This year’s Ashbourne & Purcell Finals will be held at Pearse Stadium as a double header fixture on Sunday, February 20th.



Lord Mayor of Galway Michael Crowe welcomed An Cumann Cam¾gaÝochta
CCAO President Shane D’Arcy, SinÚad O’Connor, Ard Sti·rth¾ir, Lynn Kelly, CCAO, Caroline Murray, RDO Camogie Association, Michael O’Connor NUI, Galway and representatives from Galway Camogie Board and Galway GAA  to City Hall on Friday.



Speaking about this year’s mayoral reception President of the Camogie Association Joan O’ Flynn:



“”We are delighted that Mayor of Galway Michael Crowe and Galway City Council have afforded The Camogie Association & CCAO a mayoral reception to mark this year’s 2011 Ashbourne & Purcell Cup Competitions.



We extend our thanks to Mayor Crowe and Galway City Council for this opportunity and acknowledge the honour associated with it.



This weekend promises the best in third level competitions and with over 500 camogie players in the city it will be a fantastic sporting festival and also a great economic boost.



I would also like to extend my thanks to CCAO, NUI, Galway, Galway Camogie Board & Galway GAA for the manner in which they have worked together on hosting such a top class event.””



This year’s Ashbourne semi-finals take place at Dangan on Saturday afternoon with UCC facing UCD at noon while holders WIT face UL at 2.00pm. Meanwhile, in the Purcell Cup deciders, DCU face St. Mary’s of Belfast at Rahoon Hurling Club, Newcastle at 1.00pm while Queens face Tralee IT at 3.00pm.





ò For a full listing of Ashbourne & Purcell Cup & Shield fixtures check out and

ò The Ashbourne Cup was founded by Agnes O’Farrelly and named after Lord Ashbourne in 1915. It is the oldest competition.

ò UCD hold the highest number of Ashbourne titles; followed by UCC and NUI, Galway.


ò Waterford IT are bidding for three in a row Ashbourne titles this weekend

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners