Official Website of the Camogie Association


Leinster Secondary School's Junior 'C' Camogie Final Report by Michael Dwyer

Gorey Community School  2-5 Colaiste Sionna of Banagher 2-4
Gorey Community School's Camogie girls were triumphant over Colaiste na Sionna of Banagher in the Leinster Camogie 'C' Final on Saturday Februrary 2nd. 
With five minutes gone, Orla Molloy weaved through the Banagher defence to lodge Gorey's first point. Roisin Pierce assisted Caoimhe Molloy for a second point but their opponents responded sharply as Banagher's courageous captain Gráinne Dolan swept past the Gorey defence to hit the ball to the net. Dolan's next point was sandwiched by two well-taken Ellen Roche points. The intense attacks of Gorey midfielder Hayley Murphy assisted sharpshooter Caoimhe Molloy in earning a major. The valiant work of Gorey's Lorna Cushe, Donna Morrissey and Roisin Egan kept the Banagher attacks at bay as Gorey led at the interval on a scoreline of 2-03 to 1-02. 
The second half was low-scoring but featured dogged clashes between both sides. Gorey's Ellen Roche pointed a free but her efforts were negated by Gráinne Dolan's point. The intensity heightened as Offaly's Siobhrán Reddin managed to sneak a goal past 'keeper Roisin Wheatley.
Another exchange of points between Dolan and Orla Crowe meant that Gorey led by the minimum with ten minutes remaining.  Gráinne Dolan, Louise Flannery and Sinéad Flannery led exceptional Banagher advances but they were counter-attacked by the diligent Amy Dowdall, Hayley Murphy and Roisin Egan.
With the atmosphere at boiling point, the final whistle sounded leading to profound scenes of jubilation as Gorey captain, Ciara Goland, was presented with the 'Colaiste Laighin' Perpetual Trophy. Camogie teams in Gorey Community School have had a good track record in the past year as the Senior girls reached the Leinster semi final against the same opposition last month.  
The side are trained by the tremendous trio of Mary Leacy, Muireann McCarthy and Fionán Casey. Because of prior appointments, the two female teachers could not manage the team on Saturday last. However, the generous commitment of Margaret Lacey, Joe Roche and Sean O' Brien meant that the girls were keenly focused on victory. They now advance to the All Ireland Semi Final which will be played on Saturday February 23rd.  
Gorey CS: Roisin Wheatley, Aoibheann Doyle, Aoife Hughes, Roisin Egan (All Naomh Eanna); Ciara Goland (Captain), Amy Dowdall, Donna Morrissey, Hayley Murphy, Ellen Roche (1-02), Ellen Kinsella (All Castletown-Liam Mellows); Orla Molloy (0-01), Roisin Pierce, Orla Crowe, Caoimhe Molloy (1-01, All Naomh Eanna). SUBS. Muireann O' Connor, Nadine Kenny (Both Naomh Eanna), Hannah Morrissey, Denise Byrne, Niamh Donnelly, Denise Coade (All Castletown-Liam Mellows).
Banagher: Ruth Fogarty, Saidbh McIntyre, Danielle Walshe, Cora McEvoy, Meábh Doorly, Ann Daly, Olwyn Kenny, Gráinne Dolan (1-04), Aoife McLoughlin, Louise Flannery, Sinéad Flannery, Helena Silke, Shauna Duane (1-00), Claire Turley, Siobhán Reddin SUBS. Shauna Keane, Róisín Kelly, Róisín McDonagh, Hannah Plunkett, Louise Corcoran, Yvonne Ryan, Celine Cleary, Gráinne Minnock, Eva Camon, Ciara O'Sullivan, Ciara Tierney, Mary Ellen McMahon, Áine McGarry, Sinéad Moran.  

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners