Official Website of the Camogie Association


The annual Shinty/Camogie Compromise Rules game between Ireland and Scotland takes place this Saturday (October 31st) in Bught Park, Inverness, with Ireland hoping to prevent Scotland from winning their fourth consecutive title.

The Irish team is made up largely of players from junior counties such as Armagh, Wicklow, Westmeath and Carlow. Nancy Murray Cup winners Roscommon and Cavan who were victorious in the Mßire NÝ ChinnÚide Cup have three representatives each.

Roscommon manager Ger Moran and Cavan boss Eddie Brady will take charge of the Irish squad this weekend. They will be joined in the backroom team by Louth’s Mary Connor who is eagerly looking forward to the game. She believes the Irish players will step up to the challenge.

“”We had a two hour training session in Mullingar on Saturday in very difficult conditions, and the girls feel they are prepared for whatever they are faced with. Their enthusiasm is wonderful. Three of the panel have experience of playing shinty which hopefully will help the team.

“”The girls that we have picked are fantastic players in their own right. The standard of camogie in the country has increased overall and I think we’ll see that next weekend. Shinty is a tough game, but the girls are really looking forward to the test.””

The Scottish selection is full of experience with many of the names who featured in 2008, again in their line up. Hilda Dooley, originally from the Kinnitty camogie club in Offaly, is related to former All Star brothers Johnny and Billy Dooley.

Women’s shinty has improved considerably since the International series began in the Camogie Association’s Centenary Year in 2004, with increasing numbers playing. The raising of skill levels has been reflected in the largest turnout for the squad trials to date this year.

Ireland last won in 2005.

Throw-in for the Shinty/Camogie Compromise Rules game is at 12.15pm on Saturday in Bught Park, with the men’s equivalent getting under way at 2.10pm.

Ireland squad:

Caroline Connaughton (Roscommon)

Claire Curley (Roscommon)

Niamh Connolly (Roscommon)

Rosie Crowe (Cavan)

Lorraine Day (Cavan)

Maggie McBride (Cavan)

Ann Marie Doran (Wicklow)

Karen Walsh (Wicklow)

Pamela Greville (Westmeath)

Sandra Greville (Westmeath)

Bernie Murray (Armagh)

Colette McSorley (Armagh)

Roisin McKenna (Monaghan)

Sharon McQuillan(Monaghan)

Valerie Crean (Carlow)

Margaret Coady (Carlow)

Roisin O Connell (Kildare)

Niamh Breen (Kildare)

Aisling Corr (Tyrone)

Frances Bigley (Tyrone)


Managers: Eddie Brady (Cavan), Ger Moran (Roscommon)

Selector: Mary Connor (Louth)


Scotland squad:

Elaine Cameron

Sarah Corrigal

Joanne Gillanders

Beth MacDonald

Laura MacKay

Elaine Wink (all Glengarry)

Yvonne Connaughton

Orla Coughlan

Hilda Dooley

Marin Holohan

Fiona Mathie (all Tir Conaill Harps)

Katie Drain

Laura McCafferty

Kirsten Munro

Katie Myerscough

Lisa Norman (Glasgow Mid Argyll)

Kirsty Deans

Jane Nicol (Badenoch & Strathspey)

Katy Smith (Forth)

Stephanie Dunstaffnage (Glenorchy)


Head coach: George Hay (Tir Conaill Harps)

Trainer: James Perlich









Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners