Official Website of the Camogie Association

Kildare, this year’s Liberty Insurance Premier Junior champions have seen their efforts rewarded with six places on the 2013 Soaring Stars team announced by the Camogie Association. 
The awards will be presented at a black tie event at Citywest on November 2nd. 
Aoife Trant and Angela Lyons receive awards at full and wing back respectively while midfielder Orla Bambury, forwards Clodagh Flanagan, Siobhan Hurley and top scorer Susie O’Carroll complete the line up.
Laois, this year’s Premier Junior finalists have collected five awards. Goalkeeper Laura Dunne, wing back Aishling Dunphy and centre back Sarah Ann Fitzgerald are named in defence. Forwards Louise Mahony and Niamh Dollard have been rewarded for their displays with Soaring Stars at wing and corner forward respectively.
Karen Tinnelly (Down), Kate Ahearne (Offaly), Carol Ann Canning (Dublin) and Denise McGrath (Westmeath) complete this year’s Soaring Stars team.
Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick) and Paula Kenny (Galway) all receive Intermediate Soaring Stars.
Double All Ireland winning Galway manager Tony Ward, joint Kilkenny managers Graeme Dillon and Niall Williams and Joe Quaid of Limerick have all been nominated for the Manager of the Year Award which will be announced on the night.
Speaking about today’s announcement President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said: 
“Congratulations to the Soaring Stars of 2013. The Camogie Association is delighted to reward the outstanding contribution of camogie players in the Junior and Intermediate grades. Soaring Star awards are an acknowledgement of the great skill, talent, commitment and tremendous athleticism shown by our players on the field of play. 
I would also like to congratulate this year’s nominees for the Manager of the Year. All four managers have achieved remarkable results with their respective teams and I look forward to making the presentation on the night.”
For Further information:
Contact Claire Egan, Communications & Marketing Director, The Camogie Association
01 865 8618/087 9030 755
2013 Soaring Stars Team 
Laura Dunne (Laois), Karen Tinnelly (Down), Aoife Trant (Kildare), Kate Ahearne (Offaly)
Aishling Dunphy (Laois), Sarah Ann Fitzgerald (Laois), Angela Lyons (Kildare), Carol Anne Canning (Dublin), Orla Bambury (Kildare), Clodagh Flanagan (Kildare), Siobhan Hurley (Kildare), Louise Mahony (Laois), Denise McGrath (Westmeath), Susie O’Carroll (Kildare), Niamh Dollard (Laois)
2013 Intermediate Soaring Stars
Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Paula Kenny (Galway)
2013 Manager of the Year Nominees
Graeme Dillon/Niall Williams (Kilkenny) Joe Quaid (Limerick), Tony Ward (Galway)
Notes to the Editor: 
The 10th annual Camogie Association All Stars will take place at Citywest on November 2nd.
Tickets are available to purchase by contacting Caroline Fitzsimons, The Camogie Association. Phone: 01 865 8651, or by downloading a ticket order form All Star Ticket Order Form  

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners