Official Website of the Camogie Association


Kilkenny capture Legends title



Kilkenny were crowned the 2011 Legends Champions after a pulsating clash with arch rivals Galway at St Judes GAA Club, Dublin on Saturday afternoon, March 5th.



Kilkenny attacker Marina Downey and SinÚad Millea led the scoring charts for the Cats with Brigid Mullally chipping in with a brace of points to record a 4-7 to 3-9 win over the Connacht side.



Galway’s Sharon Glynn was the chief scorer for the Tribeswomen with an impressive tally of 3-9. Cork, Wexford, Kilkenny and Galway took part in the seven-a-side Inaugural Legends tournament on the eve of the All Ireland Club Camogie Finals.



The Legends Cup was named in honour of the late Biddy Phillips, a national camogie referee and administrator who passed away on July 6th 2010. Phillips managed Tipperary to their first senior All Ireland camogie title in 1999. She was a long serving member of the Camogie Association serving on the National Referees Committee. She took charge of the All Ireland Senior Camogie Final in 2007 and was also referee for the Intermediate, Junior & Senior Club All Ireland Finals between 1993 and 1999.



The 2012 Camogie Legends Tournament date will be announced later this month. For further details check out



Photographs from the Inaugural Legends Tournament will be available to view on



The Inaugural Legends Tournament 2011:



Kilkenny:  Gillian Dillion, Miriam Holland, Pauline Comerford, Ann Downey, Mariana Downey, Caitriona Carey, Bridget Barnaville, Brigid Mullally, SinÚad Millea, Tracey Millea.

Wexford: Marion Cousins, Terri Butler, Tina Farrell, Emma Carroll, Michelle Murphy,Louise Fanning, Eilish McDonald, Meloine Dunne, Maire O’Connor, Miriam Lambert.

Galway: Louise Curry, Tracey Laheen, Rita Coen, Martina Harkin, Pamela Nevin, Carmel Hannon, Sharon Glynn, Denise Gilligan, Emer Hardiman, Imelda Hobbins.

Cork: Kathleen Costine, Breeda Kenny, Colette O’Mahony, Denise Cronin, Miriam Deasy, Ger McCarthy, Fiona O’Driscoll, Mags Finn, Linda Mellerick.


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners