Official Website of the Camogie Association

The first National Referees Academy was launched by the President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor at Croke Park on Saturday June 15th.The Referees Academy is the first of its kind within the Association and is part of a number of initiatives introduced by President of the Association, Aileen Lawlor to support the development and progression of referees.
Twelve referees (six men and six women) have been selected for this year’s Academy. They will receive concentrated training and will be monitored and assessed on their refereeing performance throughout the year.
Speaking at the launch President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said: 
“I am delighted to launch the first ever National Referees Academy and I would like to pay tribute to the sterling work of the National Referees Committee who have undertaken this project on behalf of the Association. As a former referee, this is an area that is very close to my heart. The role of a referee is one that is very demanding and challenging but it is also one that is extremely satisfying and worthwhile. Referees make an enormous contribution to our games and it is vital that we provide training and support that enables referees to perform at the highest level.
The Academy is an exciting initiative and it will enable us to provide excellent training to referees and to monitor and assess the standards of each referee. I want to congratulate each of the members of this year’s Academy and to wish them well in their endeavours over the coming months.”
The members of this year’s National Referees Academy are: Julie O Neill (Armagh), Naomi Feighery (Kildare), Grainne Coulter (Down), Fiona Ní Shúilleabháin (Dublin), Jenny Byrne (Dublin), Siobhan Ryan (Tipperary), Kieran Kelly (Carlow), Pat Kehoe (Carlow), Eamon Cassidy (Derry), John McDonagh (Galway), Ray Kelly (Kildare) and Peter Dowd (Meath).
? Photographs from the event are available from Martina McGilloway, and Tel: 087 126 2131
? Follow camogie on and and on

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners