Official Website of the Camogie Association


Limerick Camogie continued their winning ways, annexing the Munster Junior Cup with a gutsy display over Cork at Ballygiblin on Sunday afternoon (May 26th) with a 2-10 to 1-10 win. Player of the match Karen  O'Leary led the way from the half back line, with Dymphna O'Brien on the end of Limerick's scores reports Kevin Holmes.

Cork got the first score of the game within a minute with a point from play. Limerick quickly replied with point from Aoife Wilson. Brid Hannan then scored 3 points without reply in the next  9 mins (1-45’, 1-free). In the 10th minute Cork got a goal which Limerick immediately cancelled with one of their own by Lisa O’Keefe. This left the score Limerick 1-04 Cork 1-01.
Cork got another point but then  Aoife Wilson raised the green flag (13 min) followed by a point each from Noreen Barry (14 min) and Dymphna O’Brien (15 min.)  These were the last scores by Limerick in this half but Cork hit purple patch coming back strongly with 5 unanswered points (0-04 play 0-01 free).
Limerick were first to score in the second half with a point from play from Elaine Kennedy, giving Limerick a three point lead.  However, Cork through Niamh McCarthy and Amy O'Connor sent in some great ball to a forward line that Limerick marshalled well through Noreen Barry. But they clawed back with two points (1-45’, 1-free). 
Limerick introduced subs after 10 mins – Martina McMahon for Lisa O’Keefe, Katy Hurley for Katie Hennessey. Three points from Limerick on 16 min (Martina McMahon) 17 min (Noreen Barry) 26 min (Brid Hannan) gave Limerick a four point cushion.
Donna Mulcahy was introduced for Elaine Kennedy.  Cork finished strongly but Limerick defended well just allowing Cork the final score of the game -a point in the 29th minute. Cork managed only 3 scores in the second half, and the Treaty County secured their Munster title to add to their national league title.Captain Sarah Crotty lifted the Burns Perpetual Cup on behalf of the victorious Limerick team.  
Final score 2-10 to 1-10
Scorers : Brid Hannan 0-04 (1 free, 1 45’) Aoife Wilson 1-01 Noreen Barry 0-02 Lisa O’Keefe 1-00, Martina McMahon 0-01, Dymphna O’Brien 0-01, Elaine Kennedy 0-01
Subs used: Martina McMahon for Lisa O’Keefe, Katy Hurley for Katie Hennessey, Donna Mulcahy for Elaine Kennedy, 

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners