Official Website of the Camogie Association


Limerick 3-10

Waterford 1-15


NAOMI CARROLL is the name to watch out for. With full time elapsed in Mallow last evening and her team trailing by five points, the Limerick full forward stung Waterford with two blistering goals in the 62nd and 63rd minute to land the All Ireland minor B championship and leave the Deise feeling totally shell shocked.


In a hugely committed team performance the Shannonsiders had to dig deep after playing second fiddle for most of the hour. They trailed 1-6 to 0-6 at half time, and again, were behind coming down the home straight, but driven by Carroll, Waterford who appeared to be home and dry, couldn’t survive the late onslaught.


Waterford were in full voice early on. Patricia Jackman fired home their goal in the opening minutes and soon afterwards she added a couple of points. They maintained this dominance for the rest of the 30 minutes despite Limerick trying to get back into contention with points from Carroll (four), Caroline Scanlon and Annette McAuliffe. Yet, Limerick were not firing on all cylinders.


Waterford were still the team with the momentum. They moved 1-15 to 1-10 ahead as the game was petering out with Jackman landing six of these (three from play). Just when they thought they had done enough, the drama started to unfold. Limerick‘s full back line of Lisa Scanlon, Niamh Power and Aisling Enright stormed into the action and with a more plentiful supply going down field Carroll came into her own.


Not once, but twice, the senior county player beat a crowded goalmouth to clinch an amazing victory that will stand Phelim Macken’s side in good stealth for the days ahead.


Scorers for Limerick: N Carroll 3-5, A McAuliffe and K Carroll (frees) 0-2 each, C Scanlon 0-1 (45m).

Scorers for Waterford: P Jackman 1-8 (0-4 frees, 0-1 45m), R Whelan and M Russell 0-2 each, C McGlone, N Rockett and R Quinn 0-1 each.


Limerick: P Kerins; L Scanlon, N Power, A Enright; N Richardson, S Carey, J Mulcahy; T Hurley, M O’Callaghan; C Casey, C Scanlon, K Brosnan; R Carmody, N Carroll, A McAuliffe.

Subs: E Kelly for T Hurley, M Ryan for C Scanlon, K Carroll for C Casey, A Russell for R Carmody.

Waterford: T Kiely; S Smith, L Behan, M C Dunphy; J McCarthy, S Kiernan, S Fenton; M Russell (Capt), J Gleeson; K Hannon, P Jackman, R Whelan, K Rockett, D Fahy, C McGlone.

Subs: N Rockett for M C Dunphy (inj), M Tobin for D Fahy (inj), C Fitzgerald for K Rockett.

Referee: D Connolly (Galway


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners