Official Website of the Camogie Association

Marion McStay of Armagh was announced as the recipient of the 2016 Síghle Nic an Ultaigh Award at this weekend's Annual Congress in Limerick.
Marion served her apprenticeship as a player with Lurgan Clan na Gael from the early 1950s right through to the present day as an administrator. She proved instrumental in regenerating Camogie in the Lurgan area particularly in the promotion of underage Camogie.
Marion has served her club at every level including treasurer, secretary and chairperson and was the first female chairperson of Armagh County Board in 1989. She has since moved on to the roles of Delegate to Ulster Council and Delegate to Congress.
With over 50 years of volunteering within Camogie, Marion is a thoroughly deserving winner of the Síghle Nic an Ultaigh Award.
From Warrenpoint, Co. Down, Sheila McAnulty is credited with guiding the path of camogie for 50 years. Elected National President in 1949, Sheila served in many roles including Secretary of the Down County Board, Chairperson of Ulster Council, Ard Runaí (1953-1975), President of All-Ireland Primary Schools and Trustee (1985-2004). In 1999 she was honoured with the title of Life President of the Camogie Association. Sheila passed away in the Centenary Year of the Association, 2004, at the age of 88. The Síghle Nic an Ultaigh Award was inaugurated to acknowledge Distinguished Administrators of the Association.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners