Official Website of the Camogie Association



All Ireland Under 16C Championship

Mayo 3-1 Cavan 1-2

In Tooreen


Mayo Camogie’s first underage outing at Inter-county level ended with a win against Cavan in a sunny Tooreen last Saturday.

This result is all the more impressive when you consider that the Mayo team is in effect a club team as the other Camogie Clubs in the county are still developing and have nobody over the Under 14 grade.

Cavan which has 9 Camogie clubs from which to draw started well and got ahead with 2 early points from play from Emer Brady and Shannon O’Reilly, Mayo responded with a goal from Sharron Lynskey and a point from Ladies Football County Star Aoife Brennan shortly after. In a game where the two defences were on top, scores were hard to come by. The Mayo defence in which Mairead Charlton and Lisa O’Connell snuffed out many Cavan attacks could not stop Cavan full forward Emer Cartwright scoring a goal shortly before half time. This was to be Cavan’s last score of the game. Mayo responded with a second goal from midfielder Sharon Lynskey before the interval, after Mayo goalie -ine Lilly had made two point blank saves from the Cavan Full forward.

After the restart Mayo came under some strong pressure from the physically stronger Cavan players but they could not break down the Mayo defence. Mayo had some attacks of their own and Mayo centre half forward Ashling Kenny scored another goal for Mayo after some good work from Mayo midfielder Aoife Cassidy. The game was played with a high degree of skill from both teams and the contest was always sporting from start to finish, . All of Mayo’s players played well but special mention has to be made of backs Aoife McHugh, Rona Burke, Lisa O’Connell and Mairead Charlton, midfielders Sharon Lynskey and Aoife Cassidy and forwards Ashling Kenny and Ashling Tarpey.

The Cavan players also showed great determination and heart and played up to the final whistle. Their best players on the day were midfielders Keeva Galligan and Breda Kearney half backs Mary Moore and Nicola Collins and forwards Emer Cartwright and Shannon Gill.




-ine Lilly, Eilis Harrison, Lisa O’Connell, Aoife Lilly, Rona Burke, Mairead Charlton, Aoife McHugh, Sharon Lynskey, Aoife Cassidy, Aoife Brennan, Ashling Kenny, Ashling Tarpey, Rebecca McGowan, Noreen Cassidy, Clodagh Sloyan, Sonia Henry.



Catriona Smith, Hannah Magee, Caoimhe Rudden, Niamh Monaghan, Rebecca Dunne, Nicola Collins, Mary Moore, Keeva Galligan, Breda Kearney, Arlene Brady, Shannon Gill, Shannon O’Reilly, Emer Brady, Emer Cartwright, Ellen Murphy, Emma Denning, Ciara McSherry, Leah O’Brian, Louise Martin, Meghan Smith, Caroline Reilly, Tara Fitzpatrick, Eadaoin Minagh.



Peter Cassidy

Chairman Mayo County Board


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners