Official Website of the Camogie Association


Leinster Championship


Kildare V Meath played in St. Lawrence Kildare at 2pm Saturday


Meath 2-16

Kildare 1-9


Meath made the better start to the match with the opening score a goal in the 3rd minute when Jane Dolan delivered a pass to Debra Wigglesworth who finished to the net.  Shortly after, a ball in from Aine Keogh found Jane Dolan who was fouled on the 21 yard line and converted the resulting free.  At the other end, Kildare who were playing with the aid of the breeze were securing plenty of possession but shot wide twice in the opening 10 minutes under pressure from the Meath half-back line. 


Kildare’s opening score came in the 12th minute when Susie O’ Carroll converted a free.  Carroll scored another free minutes later.  Kildare continued to put the Meath defence under pressure and were rewarded with a goal from corner forward Clodhna McSweeney which glanced in off the stick of goalie Emily Mangan.  Jane Dolan drew the teams level with a point from play and Meath then edged ahead with a pointed free from Dolan. 


Kildare continued to win possession but again shot wide twice before Carroll whose free taking on the day was impeccable converted a free from the 45 yard line. The teams went in at the break level at 1-4 each with Dolan and Carroll scoring two further frees.


Kildare opened the scoring in the second half with a free.  After that Meath seemed to up the tempo and were making good use of the breeze with Aine Keogh continuing to supply good ball to the forward line.  Aileen Donnelly pointed a long range free and within a period of 10 minutes Meath scored seven unanswered points, 2 each for Elizabeth Lynch and Jane Dolan and 1 a piece for Sinead Hackett, Aine Keogh and Debra Wigglesworth. 


With the benefit of a 7 point cushion the Meath bench introduced a number of subs – Aoife Maguire came on in place of Sinead Hackett, Jenny Rispin

d Frances Lynch and Laura Flynn was introduced at midfield for Anne-Marie Fagan. 


Dolan moved out to the half forward line and Jenny Rispin moved into the corner from where she pointed from a Laura Flynn pass and kicked to the net for a well taken goal.  Kildare continued to push forward but were well marshalled by the Meath defence.  Carroll converted 4 further frees and Meath put 3 more pointed frees on the board.  



Meath Team

Emily Mangan, Edel Guy, Lorna Donegan, Emma McNally, Holly Geraghty, Aileen Donnelly, Louise Donoghue, Anne Marie Fagan, Aine Keogh, Stephanie Horan, Frances Lynch, Sinead Hackett, Lizzie Lynch, Jane Dolan, Debra Wigglesworth.


Aoife Maguire for Sinead Hackett, Jenny Rispin for Frances Lynch, Laura Flynn for Anne Marie Fagan, Dearbhle Carroll for Stephanie Horan, Niamh Guy for Lizzy Lynch


Kildare team

Tanya Johnson, Niamh Breen, Amy O’Hara, Paula Keatley, Gillian O’Hurley, Mel Trisaey, Aoife Trany Ciara Tallon, Clodagh Flanagan, Emear Fallon, Carol Nolan, Susie O’Carroll, ciara Dolan, Regina Gorman, Clodhna McSweeney.




1st Half

Meath – D. Wigglesworth (1-0), J. Dolan (0-4) (3 frees)


Kildare S. Carroll (0-4) (all frees). No. 15 (1-0)


2nd Half

Meath J. Rispin (1-1), J. Dolan (0-4) (2 frees), A. Donnelly (0-2f), L. Lynch (0-2), S. Hackett (0-1),  A. Keogh (0-1), D. Wigglesworth (0-1).


Kildare – S Carroll (0-5) (all frees)



The Meath County Board will look forward to welcoming the President of the Camogie Association Joan O’Flynn to their Next County Board Meeting which will be held on the 4th August 2009, in Trim Castle Hotel. The President of the Camogie Association has endeavoured to visit all Counties during her term of office.



Having successful topped their group Meath are now through to the All Ireland Semi-Final of the New Ireland Cup – They winners of each of the Semi-finals will play in Croke Park on the 13th September 2009.



Please see below your fixture details for the Gala Junior Championship Semi Finals – New Ireland Cup


Saturday 8th August


Waterford v- Laois, Nowlan Park, Kilkenny, 1.45pm


Meath v- Offaly, Nowlan Park, Kilkenny, 3.30pm


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners