Official Website of the Camogie Association

The Camogie Association Media and RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards were presented at Croke Park on Saturday night (March 3rd).
Bríd McNamara was honoured with the RTÉ Mick Dunne PRO of the Year award for her exemplary work as Clare Camogie PRO. Cavan Camogie Board received the Published Work accolade for their stunning hard-back publication The History of Cavan Camogie 1909- 2009.
Waterford Local Radio (WLRFM) collected the Camogie Association Media Award for Local Radio, for their superb coverage of Waterford’s march to the All Ireland Premier Junior title. 
Caroline Quinn received the Photograph of the Year (professional category) for the second consecutive year while John Merry of Armagh was honoured with the Photograph of the Year in the amateur category. 
President of the Camogie Association Joan O’Flynn, Paddy Glackin, Head of Radio Sport, RTÉ and Lily Dunne, wife of the late Mick Dunne, presented the awards to eight recipients.
Speaking at the event President of the Camogie Association Joan O’Flynn said:
“Through this awards scheme, I am delighted to recognise and commend the increasing visibility of Camogie in the media.  There is increased competitiveness, increasing attendances and an ever-improving standard within Camogie. 
These significantly increase the sporting entertainment and newsworthiness of the game.  About ten per cent of sports coverage relates to women, so there is a long way to go to equal the coverage devoted to men’s sport. As these awards reward excellence in the media coverage of Camogie, they play a role in working towards that. 
I heartily congratulate all the winners, most of whom are volunteers, and I hope that the awards contribute to further improvements in the quality and quantity of media coverage of our game.”
Paddy Glackin, Head of Radio Sport, RTÉ said:
"RTÉ is delighted to work in close co-operation with the Camogie Association. 
In recent years this has led to raising the profile of this unique and skilful sport and it is our hope to continue and develop ways of bringing Camogie to a wider audience in the future. 
We congratulate those at all levels involved in the promotion of Camogie. Go raibh Rath Dé ar an obair.”
o Photographs from the Camogie Association & RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards are available from Gareth Chaney, and 086 308 2725
o This is the sixth year of the Camogie Association Media Awards incorporating the RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards sponsored by RTÉ. Mick Dunne made an outstanding contribution to the coverage of Gaelic Games, particularly camogie. He gave the game extensive coverage in print, radio and television. 
o The 2011 RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards recipients are: PRO of the Year, Bríd McNamara (Clare); Photograph of the Year Professional Category, Caroline Quinn; Photograph of the Year Amateur Category, John Merry (Armagh); Published Work Cavan Camogie Board, A History of Cavan Camogie 1909 -2009.
o The 2011 Camogie Association Media Awards recipients are: Match Programme, Armagh Camogie Board; Local Radio Station, WLRFM (Waterford Local Radio); Provincial Newspaper, Roscommon Herald; Website, Dublin Camogie Board.
o For further information on the Camogie Association & RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards go to and

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners