Official Website of the Camogie Association


Press Release
The Camogie Association in conjunction with RT+ invites nominations for the 2010 Media Awards which will take place on Saturday March 5th in Croke Park.
This is the sixth year of the awards which celebrate the contribution of all who work towards promoting and publicising camogie nationwide.
Nominations are invited for the RT+ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards in which there are four categories: PRO of the Year; Photograph of the Year; Published work (which incorporates a publication, calendar, magazine, yearbook, history) and National Coverage of Camogie (TV & Radio broadcast, print and web).
The Camogie Association Awards seek submissions for Match Programme (club, county, provincial, colleges, schools); Local Radio Station; Provincial Newspaper and Website (club, county, provincial, colleges, schools).
Speaking about the Camogie Association Media Awards President Joan O’Flynn:
“”The awards are a fantastic incentive to those who work tirelessly in the promotion of the sport of camogie at local and national level. We are delighted, in association with RT+, to be in a position to acknowledge the tremendous work of our volunteers nationwide and so too the vital role that local and national media play. We also take this opportunity to thank the Dunne family and RT+ for their sterling support down through the years.”” 
 RT+ Director General Noel Curran said:
 “”RT+ is very pleased to support the Camogie Association and these awards, as part of our continuing commitment to Sport and to Gaelic Games. Sport, and Gaelic games in particular, remains a cornerstone of national life, of community activity and of RT+’s service to the Irish public across all our platforms. We at RT+ are delighted to renew our involvement this year and to salute all those working for the continued growth and development of Camogie nationwide.“”
The closing date for receipt of nominations is February 7th 2011 at 5.00pm. Nominations must be submitted to The Camogie Association, Croke Park, Dublin 3. The 2010 Media Award recipients will be announced on Wednesday, February 23rd.
Notes to the editor:
À        For further information and to submit a nomination for the 2010 Media Awards contact Claire Egan, Communications & Marketing Director, The Camogie Association, 01 865 8651, 087 9030755,
À        Nominations must include appropriate support material which reflects the quality of the nominated work. A cover letter outlining the reasons for nomination must also be included. The submission must also include the contact details of the nominee and nominator – name; address; phone number (mobile/landline) and email address.
À        This is the sixth year of the Camogie Association Media Awards incorporating the Mick Dunne Memorial Awards sponsored by RT+ . Mick Dunne made an enormous contribution to the coverage of Gaelic Games, particularly camogie. He gave the game extensive coverage in print, radio and television.
À        The 2009 winners of the Mick Dunne Memorial Awards were Tom Allen, Limerick, PRO of the Year; Michael Kelly, Photograph of the Year; David Devereux, Wexford People, Published Article of the Year; C’mon Camßn, National Broadcast of the Year.
À        The 2009 Camogie Association Media Award winners were: Armagh County Final, Best Match Programme; Roscommon Herald, Best Provincial Newspaper Coverage; KFM, Best Local Radio; Special Category, Pride and Passion- Camogie in Offaly.
*For further information contact Claire Egan, Communications & Marketing Director, The Camogie Association, 01 865 8651, 087 9030755,

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners