Official Website of the Camogie Association



The inaugural Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Stars Tour will travel to Madrid, Spain between Wednesday November 29th and Saturday December 2nd and an exhibition match between the 2016 and 2017 Senior All-Stars winners and nominees will take place in XV Hortaleza Rugby Club, Madrid on Thursday November 30th

2016 All-Stars Team

The 2016 All-Stars will be represented by 14 players from 6 counties, including the 2016 Players' Player of the Year Denise Gaule.

The legendary Ann Downey will manager the side having won the Manager of the Year Award for the first time in 2016.

The players on the 2016 All-Stars team are:

Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
Emma collected her first All-Stars Award in 2016 for her outstanding displays between the sticks as Kilkenny sealed All-Ireland glory and was a nominee again in 2017 as they finished as runners-up.
Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)
Sarah has been a pillar of consistency, receiving All-Stars nominations in both 2016 and 2017 and the young defender looks likely to be a mainstay for the Yellowbellies for years to come.
Sarah Dervan (Galway)
Sarah collected an amazing 4th All-Stars Award in-a-row in 2016, claiming the Full-Back position as Galway reached the All-Ireland Semi-Finals before narrowly losing in extra-time.
Collette Dormer (Kilkenny)
Collette picked up her 2nd All-Stars Award in 2016 at Left Corner-Back as the Cats claimed their frist All-Ireland title in 22 years.
Rebecca Hennelly (Galway)
Rebecca claimed her first Senior All-Stars Award in 2016 at Right Half-Back having previously won an Intermediate Soaring Star Award in 2013.
Anne Dalton (Kilkenny)
An All-Stars winner in both 2016 and 2017, Anne has collected 5 All-Stars Awards in total to date to add to her medal haul which sees her as one of the most decoreated players in the game.
Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny)
Miriam collected her first All-Stars Award in 2016 as recognition for her pivotal role in the Cats' midfield on their way to All-Ireland glory, and was nominated again in 2017 as she maintained her stellar form.
Orla Cotter (Cork)
Orla was also an All-Stars Award winner in both 2016 and 2017 and has collected 5 All-Stars Awards in her career to date. She has been a key member of the Cork side in recent years, collecting multiple titles along the way.
Michaela Morkan (Offaly)
Michaela is a stalwart of Offaly Camogie and collected an All-Stars Award in 2008, to add to her multiple Soaring Stars Awards. She played a key role for Faithful County as they reached the Quarter-Finals in 2016.
Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)
Shelley has been a crucial part of the Wexford set-up for many years, and her consistent displays saw her receive All-Stars nominations in both 2016 and 2017. 2016 saw the Yellowbellies agonisingly defeated after extra-time of the All-Ireland Semi-Final.
Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)
The Players' Player of the Year in 2016, Denise was one of the standout players for the Cats as they claimed the O'Duffy Cup, scoring vital points throught their campaign. She continued this form as the Cats reached the Final again in 2017 which saw her nominated once more for an All-Stars Award in 2017.
Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick)
A nominee in both 2016 and 2017 Niamh has lead by example in Limerick's rise through the Camogie ranks in recent years, collecting Soaring Stars Awards along the way as as her county won the All-Ireland Intermediat title in 2014 to gain promotion to Senior Camogie.
Tina Hannon (Offaly)
A nominee in 2016, the sharpshooter has lead the Offaly forward line in recent years and in 2016 this saw them reach the Quarter-Final stages where they lost to eventual champions Kilkenny.
Kate Kelly (Wexford)
A true legend of the game, Kate collected an incredible 9th All-Stars Award in 2016 before retiring as she finished as the Championship's top scorer – a fitting end to a glittering career that saw her collect 4 All-Ireland titles with Wexford.
Full details regarding the Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Stars Tour can be found here

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners