Official Website of the Camogie Association

Intermediate A Final
Carrig on Suir v St Joseph’s Tulla Sat Jan 12th @ 1pm Venue: Dundrum
Ref: E Browne
Intermediate B League Final
St Mary’s Midleton v Roscrea Sun Jan 13th @1pm Killeagh. Ref: C Egan
Senior A Final
St Mary’s Charleville v Coachford College Sat Jan 26th @1pm Venue: Newtownshandrum Ref: J O’Leary
Senior B Final
St Joseph’s Borrisoleigh v Christ the King Cork Sat Jan 26th @2pm Venue: Borrisoleigh Ref: F McNamara
Senior C Final
Roscrea v Blackwater Comm School Sun Jan 27th @1pm Venue: Lismore Ref: J O’Donnell
Jnr A Final
Coachford College v St Caimins/Christ the King Sat Feb 2nd @ 1pm Venue: TBA. Ref: TBA
Junior B Final
 Nenagh/Kinsale v Thurles/Lismore Sat Feb 2nd @1pm Venue: TBA. Ref: M Sheehan
Junior C Final
 Dromcollogher / St Mary’s Mallow v Hospital Sat Feb 2nd. 1pm Venue: Drom/Mallow Ref: E Browne

Munster Colleges Senior A Championship Semi Final – 

St Mary’s Charleville 1.08 St Caimin’s ( Shannon) 1.05

St, Mary s of Charleville put an end to St. Caimin’s run in the Munster Senior A Championship just before the Christmas break. Charleville were the stronger team but luck played it’s part for the Cork side also – the difference between the sides on the scoreboard in the end a long distance goal which deceived Aine Lawlor in the Caimin’s goal. This was very unfortunate for the Newmarket girl as she pulled off may fine saves throughout the game and especially in the second half when Charleville were searching for those goals which would close Caimin’s out of the game. Charleville were to the fore at half time by the minimum score 0-05 to 1-01. Charleville s first half scores came from Rosemary Rea 0-01, Annette McAuliffe 0-02, Eimear Healy 0-02frs. While Aiveen O Shea 1-00 and Carina Roseingrave 0-01 accounted for Caimin’s tally.

The second half was a true game of sheer grit and determination, with both sides looking for the break that would see them into the Munster Final. Louise O Flynn had Charleville of to a dream start with the opening point after Maire McGrath had foiled a goal attempt. Indeed Charleville laid siege to the Caimin’s goal for most of the second period and as stated Aine Lawlor pulled of numerous saves to keep Caimin’s in contention. In this attempt there was great support from Carol O Leary and Maire McGrath in the full back line. Caimin’s got few chances for their forwards to make use of but on a rare occasion Rachel O Halloran chased down what looked like a fruitless attack, and to the amazement of the Cork attendance and the delight of the Clare followers, but from the corner flag she pointed to give Caimin’s a huge lift.
Eimear Healy with another free kept Charleville to the fore. Roseingrave of Caimin’s pointed to reduce the margin to 2. Then Healy put the nail in the Caimins’ challenge with a free from 40 yards slipped to the back of the net. This gave Charleville the break and breathing space that they needed.

Caimin’s fought on and that was Charleville s last score as Caimin’s added two more with Chloe Morey converting the first Caimin’s scores from frees. Caimin’s did have a free late on from which they would try to level matters but to no avail.
Charleveille were the stronger team on the day. Fionnuala Dore controlled much of the Charleville game from centre back and curtailed many Caimin’s attacks as they filed to get through this solid line of defence. Rebecca Finn, Rosemary Rea, Orlaith O Mahony and Louise O Flynn were others to impress on the day while Eimear Healy s accuracy with frees always kept Charleville ahead. For Caimin’s Roisin McMahon, Aine Lawlor, Carol O Leary, Rachel o Halloran and Chloe Morey impressed.
St. Caimins Shannon: Aine Lawlor, Maire McGrath, Carol O Leary, K Connor,Chloe Neyon, Chloe Morey, Niamh Corry, Leanne Boyle, Roisin McMahon, Rachel O Halloran, Aiveen O Shea, Sinead Touhy, Shauna Chaplin, Carina Roseingrave, Laura McMahon

St. Marys Charleville: Eileen Hanley, Aisling McAuliffe, Rebecca Finn, Cliona Galvin, Maria Walsh, Fionnuala Dore, Erin Reidy, Rosemary Rea, Orlaith O Mahony, Sinead O Flynn, Annette McAuliffe, Louise O Flynn, Mariah Reidy, Eimear Healy, Darina O Callaghan

St. Mary s Eimear Healy 1-04frs, Annette McAuliffe 0-02, Louise O Flynn 0-01, Rosemary Rea 0-01
St. Caimin s AiveenO Shea 1-00, Carina Roseingrave 0-02, Rachel O Halloran 0-01, Chloe Morey 0-02frs

Referee: Eamon Browne (Tipperary)


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners