Official Website of the Camogie Association

CORK 1-9 CLARE 1-6
Provincial title number five found its way Leeside on Monday last as the Cork Intermediate side defeating Clare in Scariff. Cork were pinned to their collars to wrestle the tile from the hands of the home sides and in the finish it was corks strength in the closing ten minutes that ensured victory. Clare led by two points heading into the closing stages but Cork finished the game stronger to be crowned champions. Charlotte Kearney gave cork and early lead fielding a long range free she finished to the Clare net but Clare settled and answered back with with three points two from Danielle Sheedy and one from Sarah Hoey to tie the game up.
Both sides battled to gain control, Cork opened up a two point advantage only for Clare to bring it  back to one but it was Cork who led by two points at the half time whistle 1-03 to 0-04.
From the start of the second half Clare were focused and determined. Danielle Sheedy converted a free before Carol Kaiser beat Denise Leahy in the Cork goal with just eight minutes gone in the second half and now Clare were in the driving seat.
Battling Cork failed to panic and they threw everything at the Clare defence and were back on level thanks to two converted Michelle Browne forty fives. Keeping the pressure on Cork stretched their lead to four points but Clare refused to die and battled away, a point from Louise Hayes had just a goal between the sides. Clare gave it everything as they strove to draw level but Cork held them at bay.
Despite strong Clare pressure the Cork defence held firm to record a famous victory and give the county a clean sweep of provincial titles at adult level. Corks captain Linda Dorgan was named as player of the match following on her excellent performance.
Next weekend the minor sides from both counties will battle it out for the last provincial title on offer as Cork bid for a record sixth in 2008.   

Scorers for Cork M Browne 0-6 (0-4 f 0-2 p), C Kearney 1-0, E O’ Sullivan L Dorgan, M Watson 0-1 each
Clare D Sheedy 0-4, (0-3 f, 0-1’45) C Kaiser 1-0, L Hayes, S Hoey, 0-1 each

CLARE: A Nic Cormack; A Treacy, C O’Leary, S Sherlock; E Solan; R McMahon, M Rosengrave;  Hayes, R Kaiser; D Sheedy, S Hoey(c), I Kaiser; AM Fitzgerald A O’Brien), C Kaiser.
Subs: E Glynn for A M Fitzgerald (h/t), M Clune) for A O’ Brien (h/t) S Reidy) for C O’ Leary (56)
CORK D Leahy, P Murphy, S Gleeson, Christine O’Neill, L Weste, L Hawkes, Caroline Motherway, Linda Dorgan(c) 0-1, A Thompson  Eimear O’ Sullivan (0-01P) M Browne (0-4 f 0-2 p), Liz Bugler C Kearney 1-0, M Watson 0-1 M Jagoe
Subs: S Lynch for L Bugler (45) E Roynane for M. Jagoe (51) 
Referee: Eamonn Browne, Tipperary


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners