Official Website of the Camogie Association

Stellah Sinnott (Wexford), Paul Lyng (Waterford) and Ciarßn Carey (Limerick) were announced as nominees for the O’Neills Camogie Manager of the Year Award.   

In the O’Neills Young Camogie Player of the Year Award Jessica Gill (Galway), Leanne Fennelly (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick) and Racquel McCarry (Antrim) were announced as the nominees.

There will be stiff competition for this year’s O’Neills Camogie Manager of the Year. Stellah Sinnott guided Wexford to the county’s first All-Ireland title in 32 years when they prevented Cork from completing an historic 3 All-Irelands in a row in this year’s final.

Three-time All-Star and former Limerick Hurling captain, Ciarßn Carey, only took over the Limerick camogie team a few weeks into the national league but still guided them to a league title and to the Gala Senior æB’ All-Ireland title when they overcame old rivals Cork in this year’s decider.

Waterford and their manager, Paul Lyng, had a very successful 2007. The Deise County defeated Down in the final of the Division 2 National Camogie League having just been promoted from Division 3.

While in the Young Player of the Year section 2007 has been a fantastic year for Galway sharpshooter, Jessica Gill. She had a prolific year in front of the posts, most notably her 5 points in the Gala All Ireland Semi-Final against the eventual champions, Wexford.

Kilkenny back, Leanne Fennelly, is a worthy recipient of her nomination. Fennelly, daughter of former All Ireland winner, Kevin Fennelly, was named as Player of the Match in the All Ireland Minor æA’ Final.

Niamh Mulcahy was the star of the show scoring 2 points, as Limerick pulled off a draw against Cork in the Gala All Ireland Senior æB’ Final. Mulcahy’s second point, deep into injury time, was a magnificent free struck from halfway to bring the sides level. Limerick went on to claim victory in the replay. 

Racquel McCarry from Antrim was inspirational as she helped her team to an Ulster Minor title and All-Ireland Minor æB’ title.  Racquel was also the first Ulster camogie player to win the FÚile na nGael skills competition when she took the title in 2004.    

The winners will be announced at the Energise Sport Camogie All-Stars in CityWest Hotel on the 10th of November


O’Neills Young Camogie Player of the Year Award

Jessica Gill (Connacht – Galway)

Leanne Fennelly (Leinster – Kilkenny)

Niamh Mulcahy (Munster – Limerick)

Racquel McCarry (Ulster – Antrim)

O’Neills Camogie Manager of the Year Award

Ciaran Carey (Limerick)

Paul Lyng (Waterford)

Stellah Sinnott (Wexford)


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners