Official Website of the Camogie Association

By C¾ilÝn Duffy

DIT led by 0-3 to 0-0 after five minutes but once Jordan netted for Queen’s a minute later, the northern outfit always edged the lead.

The Eglish player took two first half goals and completed her hat-trick on the restart with Joeleene Horey keeping the Dublin side in touch with 1-3 in the opening half, after which Queen’s held a 3-6 to 1-6 lead, with Michelle Cassidy also taking a goal for the eventual winners.

Queen’s started strongly in the second half and points from Down’s Karen Gribbin and a brace from Collette McSorley of Armagh helped their side to a 3-9 to 1-6 advantage in the 37th minute.

However DIT responded well with Siobhan McGrath and Horey firmly the orchestrators of the Dublin sides comeback.

Goals from McGrath and Horey left just four points between the sides as the game entered the final quarter.

However Queen’s always held the edge and although Jordan and Valerie Reaney swapped goals, to leave just a point between the sides, with five minutes remaining, Queen’s hung on for a historic first title since 1997.

Meanwhile NUI Maynooth were crowned shield champions thanks to a 3-9 to 3-2 victory over IT Tralee.


Two goals from full-forward Natalie Behan and a powerful display by Claire Donnelly at midfield saw NUIM lay the foundation for this win, and helped them to a 3-5 to 3-0 interval lead.

Ann Marie McGann, Grace McNamara and Elaine Hough tried hardest for a determined IT Tralee side.

PURCELL CUP ALL-STARS: Bronagh Keenan (QUB); Sarah Ryan (DIT), Anne McGuigan (QUB), Adele Archibald (QUB); Grace McNamara (IT Tralee), Karen Gribben (QUB), Martina Conroy (GMIT); Claire Donnelly (NUI Maynooth), Deirdre Codd (DIT); Martha Kirwan (NUI Maynooth), Elaine Hough (IT Tralee), Colette McSorley (QUB); Sinead Cassidy (QUB), Molly Dunne (Athlone IT), Joelenne Horary (DIT)

Purcell Cup final scorers:
QUB: M Jordan 3-0; S Cassidy 1-4; C McSorley 0-4; C Dallat, K Gribbin, S Jordan 0-1 each.
DIT: J Horey 1-5; S McGrath 1-1; V Reaney, D Codd 1-0 each; J Dolan 0-3; N Corrigan 0-1.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners