Official Website of the Camogie Association


This weekend sees a busy schedule of events for the Camogie Association. On Friday, March 1st the Camogie Association & RTÉ Mick Dunne Memorial Awards take place in the Croke Park Stadium. The event, presented by Joanne Cantwell of RTÉ commences at 7.30pm with a pre-drinks reception in the Cusack Suite, followed by the Awards ceremony at 8.00pm. This is the 7th year of the Camogie Association Media Awards incorporating the Mick Dunne Memorial Awards sponsored by RTÉ. The awards recognise the contribution of volunteers and organisations to the promotion and development of camogie through various mediums, including radio, print and photography.

This year's recipients are; Mick Dunne Memorial Awards PRO of the Year Brid McNamara, Clare; Match Programme, Cork County Board; Local Newspaper, The Nenagh Guardian; Local Radio, Clare FM.
The Camogie Association Media Award recipients are; Best Use of Social Media,; Professional Photograph,Brendan Donnelly, Dublin; Amateur Photograph, Leo McElwee, Derry; Special Project, St Ibars/Shelmaliers Camogie Club.
The Camogie Association PRO Training Event takes place on Saturday March 1st in the Croke Park Hotel. Commencing at 10.00am the event will include presentations on the role of a PRO, dealing with print and radio, social media & IT workshops in addition to the launch of the Association's Social Media Policy & Guidelines by President of the Association Aileen Lawlor at 11.45am. 
On Saturday, the 3rd annual Camogie Legends tournament takes place in Craobh Chiaran GAA & Camogie Club, with nine teams participating in the tournament which invites entries from inter-county players over the age of 35 and/or retired from inter-county camogie for five years or more. Holders Cork, Kilkenny, Armagh, Clare, Tipperary, Galway, Offaly, Dublin and Wexford are taking part. The Camogie Legends Cup is named in honour of Biddy Phillips, a national camogie referee and administrator. This year's winning team will be presented to the crowd at half-time during the Senior Camogie Club final.
The AIB All Ireland Intermediate Club Championship Final between Castlegar & The Rower Inistioge takes place in Donaghmore Ashbourne at 1.30pm followed by the meeting of Killimor and Milford in the AIB All Ireland Senior Club Championship Final in Croke Park at 5.00pm. 
Finally, the Camogie Volunteers of the Year dinner takes place in Croke Park at 7.00pm. The Volunteers of the Year Awards dinner, honours each County Volunteer of the Year, who has been chosen by their county for their enormous voluntary contribution to the promotion anD development of camogie in their county and/or club. This year's winners are as follows: 
Lorraine Larkin (Galway), Maeve Healy (Roscommon), Sinead Muldoon (Mayo), Mary McWilliams (Donegal), Nora Valley (Armagh), Brid Ui Dhonnghaile (Tyrone),  Brigid McKenna (Monaghan), Treena Keenaghan (Cavan), Jimmy Totten (Antrim), Kitty Fegan (Down), Kathleen Diamond (Derry), Jonathan King (Clare), Evelyn Lee (Kerry), Ollie Hallahan (Cork), Jack Dillon (Limerick), Sinead Breathnach (Waterford), Paula Ryan (Tipperary), Assumpta Dolan (Westmeath), Johnny Flaherty (Offaly), Fiona Farrell (Kildare), Marie O'Brien (Dublin), Sadie Howlin (Wexford), David Williams (Kilkenny), Bridy O'Neill (Wicklow), Brigid Carney (Meath) and Nuala Hoey (Louth).
For more information on all events: keep up to date on and follow camogie on and

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners