Official Website of the Camogie Association




All Ireland Camogie champions Offaly have secured six awards in the inaugural year of the Soaring Star Camogie Awards, an awards scheme introduced to recognise players from the All Ireland junior camogie championship grades.


The awards will be presented at the All Star award ceremony in association with O’Neills in the CityWest Hotel on November 7th.


In the New Ireland Cup, Faithful County top scorer Elaine Dermody from Drumcullen leads the way with club mate Fiona Stephens being selected at corner back. Joining them is goalkeeper Audrey Kennedy and Karen Brady both of whom were part of a very solid Offaly defensive unit, which also includes Michaela Morkan at centre back. The sixth Offaly award goes to ace attacker Arlene Watkins.


Beaten finalists Waterford have forward duo Karen Kelly and -ine Lyng among the winners. Kelly was also prominent at the weekend leading St Anne’s to the Munster junior camogie club championship final.


Laois and Down also have two representatives, while Meath have one.


Niamh Coyle helped Roscommon achieve a historic victory in the Nancy Murray Cup coming from five points down to defeat Armagh in the final by three. She is Roscommon’s representative at number nine. Kildare’s Susie O’Carroll has been rewarded in the half forward line following a prolific season with the Lilywhites.


Speaking at the announcement today, President Joan O’Flynn said, “”The inaugural Soaring Stars Camogie Awards recognises the various strands of the All Ireland championship. It rewards individual player excellence in the second tier national Camogie All Ireland championships.


“”I am particularly delighted that the achievements of Offaly and Roscommon, both of whom won their first All Irelands in 2009 are recognised along with Waterford who reached their first All Ireland final this year. Congratulations to all 15 players who are wonderful exponents of our game and demonstrated leadership, skill and commitment this season””.


The 2009 Soaring Star Camogie Awards:



Audrey Kennedy (Offaly)



Fiona Stephens (Offaly)

Eimear Moynan (Laois)

Karen Brady (Offaly)

Karen Tinelly (Down)

Michaela Morkan (Offaly)

Louise Donoghue (Meath)



Louise Mahony (Laois)

Niamh Coyle (Roscommon)



Arlene Watkins (Offaly)

Catherine McGourty (Down)

-ine Lyng (Waterford)

Susie O’Carroll (Kildare)

Karen Kelly (Waterford)

Elaine Dermody (Offaly)


Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners