Official Website of the Camogie Association

by Therese O’Callaghan
A lot of eyes will be trained on Kenny Park, Athenry on Saturday for the top of the table clash between Galway and Kilkenny whilst down in Walsh Park, will be another keenly contested game between Waterford and Dublin – in a group that is wide open.
A win for Dublin would put them on six points, with a game remaining away to Kilkenny. While David Herity will be without joint captain Laura Twomey due to a cruciate injury, the good news is that Mairi Moynihan, Doireann Mullany, Síle Nic Coitir (recovering from her third cruciate injury) and Sarah O’Donovan are all fighting to be in contention for places.
Leaving Cert students Alex Griffin and Niamh Rock are available for selection too. And interestingly, Dublin’s Zoe O’Donoghue is a former player with Waterford.
When these teams met in the National League in February, the Déise were 0-11 to 0-7 winners. The news from the Waterford camp is that they are determined to round off their championship campaign with a win on home ground this weekend. Players they will be looking to are Beth Carton, Niamh Rockett and Shauna Kiernan.
Ciara Jackman, who impressed with the county minors on Wednesday night is also available, albeit Emma Hannon Roche misses out due to injury. Star player Patricia Jackman is unavailable to Ray O’Brien this season as she is currently in Australia.
Elsewhere, Galway who have six points from their two outings, welcome All-Ireland champions Kilkenny to Athenry. This is an eagerly anticipated clash. Therese Manton, Tara Kenny and captain Heather Cooney are all expected to have recovered from injuries they picked up in last week’s win over Waterford. As well, Carrie Dolan has rejoined Mark Dunne’s squad after sitting her Leaving Cert.
While Kilkenny are unbeaten so far, a draw with Clare last Saturday leaves them lying second in the group with four points. They required a late Denise Gaule point for a share of the spoils in Nowlan Park. Ann Downey is reporting no fresh injury concerns ahead of their trip to the west.
Saturday July 8th
Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship (Group 1)
Galway v Kilkenny, 2.30pm, Kenny Park, Athenry, Eamon Cassidy (Derry)
Waterford v Dublin, 2.30pm, Walsh Park, Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)
1 Faye McCarthy, Naomh Jude
2 Arleen Cushen, Na Fianna
3 Eve O’Brien, Na Fianna
4 Eva Marie Elliott, Naomh Uinsionn
5 Hannah Hegarty, Naomh Jude
6 Aisling Carolan.,OliverPlunket ER
7 Gráinne Quinn, Naomh Uinsionn
8 Miriam Twomey, NaomhMearnóg
9 Eimear McCarthy, Naomh Uinsionn
10 Claire Donnelly, Naomh Uinsionn
11 Aisling Maher, Naomh Uinsionn
12 Siobhán Kehoe, Naomh Fionnbarra
13 Emma Flanagan, Lucan Sarsfields
14 Zoe O’Donoghue, Na Fianna
15 Ali Twomey, Lucan Sarsfields
16 Megan Lewis, Faughs Celtic
17 Mairi Moynihan, Lucan Sarsfields
18 Ali Maguire, Naomh Uinsionn
19 Sarah O’Donovan, Naomh Uinsionn
20 Ellen McGovern, Naomh Uinsionn
21 Sile Nic Coiter, BallyBoden SE
22 Eimear O Leary, BallyBoden SE
23 Alex Griffen, Na Fianna
24 Niamh Rock, Na Fianna
25 Doireann Mullany BallyBoden SE
1 Brianna O Regan, De La Salle
2 Marie Russell, Lismore
3 Fiona Morrissey (Joint Captain), An Rinn
4 Claire Whyte, St.  Anne’s
5 Mairéad Power, Piltown
6 Shauna Kiernan, Lismore
7 Iona Heffernan, Ferrybank
8 Kate Mc Mahon, Butlerstown
9 Aoife Landers, An Rinn
10 Niamh Rockett, St. Anne’s
11 Beth Carton, De La Salle
12 Áine Lyng, Gailltír
13 Katherina  Mc Glone, Lismore
14 Jenny Mc Carthy, Cappoquin
15 Lorraine Bray, Cappoquin
16 Becky Kavanagh, St. Anne’s
17 Valerie O Brien, Ferrybank
18 Niamh Ahearne, Ferrybank
19 Annie Glavey, Gailltír
20 Áine Power, Piltown
21 Aoife Shanahan, Butlerstown
22 Niamh Murphy, De La Salle
23 Ciara Twoomey, De la Salle
24 Sadie Mai Rowe,  Butlerstown
25 Abbey Dunphy, Tramore
26 Clara Griffin, Tramore
27 Emma Hannon Roche (Joint captain), Gailltír
28 Ciara Jackman, Gailltír
For full fixtures click here

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners