Official Website of the Camogie Association



The Camogie Association Soaring Stars 2010 team announced



The Camogie Association Soaring Stars team in association with O’Neills was announced today with All Ireland Premier Junior Champions Antrim dominating the line-up.



The Ulster side that defeated Waterford, following a replay of the Gala Premier Junior final have five players selected on the team while finalists Waterford take four positions. The remaining places are shared by Roscommon, Kildare, Down, Armagh, Laois and Meath.



The recipients will be presented with their Soaring Stars Awards at a Gala banquet at City West Hotel on November 6th.



Antrim captain Jane Adams, along with team mates Rhona Torney, midfielder Kerrie O’Neill and forwards Michaela Convery and Shannon Graham receive their first Soaring Star awards. Waterford occupy three of the defensive slots with All Ireland Poc Fada champion Patricia Jackman selected at centre back; Shona Curran at full back and Jenny Simpson at wing-back while forward -ine Lyng takes the centre forward position.



Kildare, this year’s Junior A champions have been rewarded, with Regina Gorman named at corner back. Leinster’s remaining recipients include Meath forward Jane Dolan and Laois attacker Sarah Ann Fitzgerald.



In all eight counties are represented on a team which selects players from the Gala Premier Junior and Junior A championships. This is the second year of the Soaring Stars Awards which are presented in conjunction with the All Stars.



Commenting on today’s announcement Joan O’Flynn, President of the Camogie Association:



“”The Soaring Stars, like their senior counterparts the All Stars, acknowledge fantastic individual displays over the course of the year. Now in its second year, the Soaring Stars places the spotlight firmly on those competing in our Premier Junior and Junior A championships.


The recipients of these prestigious awards have been chosen for displays which are rich with skill, passion, commitment and good sporting conduct.



I am delighted that this particular group of players from eight counties will be afforded national recognition for their excellent displays throughout the year.””



Camogie 2010 Soaring Stars Team:



Caroline Connaghton (Roscommon)



Rhona Torney (Antrim)
Shona Curran (Waterford)
Regina Gorman (Kildare)
Fionnuala Carr (Down)
Patricia Jackman (Waterford)
Jenny Simpson (Waterford)



Bernie Murray (Armagh)
Kerrie O’Neill (Antrim)



Michaela Convery (Antrim)
-ine Lyng (Waterford)
Shannon Graham (Antrim)
Sarah Ann Fitzgerald (Laois)
Jane Adams (Antrim)
Jane Dolan (Meath)




ò This is the second year of the Soaring Stars Awards which reward players from the Premier Junior and Junior A championships.
ò The Soaring Stars are presented in conjunction with the Camogie Association All Star Awards at Citywest Hotel on November 6th.  President Mary McAleese will be the guest of honour at the event. 
ò Tickets can be purchased for this event. See for details.

Share this post:

Our Sponsors

Our Partners